Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Alpha seek floppy disk all the time

  1. #1
    salvador
    Guest

    Default Alpha seek floppy disk all the time

    My floppy disk drive is seekeing a floppy disk every time that I open a batabase, any suggestion?

  2. #2
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default RE: Alpha seek floppy disk all the time

    Salvador,

    At one time, you possibly opened a database from drive A: and Alpha still expects it to be on drive A. If you still have that database on a floppy, copy it to its own folder under Alpha4 on your hard drive, then open it from its new location and A4 will be happy.

    Dave

  3. #3
    salvador
    Guest

    Default RE: Alpha seek floppy disk all the time

    Hi
    First at all, thank you for yor help.
    I all ready tried that, but, It´s doing the same
    Any other sugestion?

  4. #4
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default RE: Alpha seek floppy disk all the time

    Salvador,

    Okay, how about these random thoughts.

    1) Open another database, save it and then open the db that's causing the problem. That might stop Alpha from looking to drive A:.

    2) Open Alpha, click on 'Choose Database/set', then 'Retrieve a Desktop'. Then, click 'Choose Database/set' again, and select 'sWitch databases', write down the databases/set on the list in the EXACT ORDER they appear. One of items on the list might be on drive A:. Delete the desktop and then recreate it. That might solve the problem.

    Dave

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    joseph mar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    50

    Default RE: Alpha seek floppy disk all the time

    Try deleting the a4.dfl file.

  6. #6
    salvador
    Guest

    Default RE: Alpha seek floppy disk all the time

    No, I deleted it, but still the same

  7. #7
    salvador
    Guest

    Default RE: Alpha seek floppy disk all the time

    The problem is that since I lunch Alpha4, seeks the floppy disk drive

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Paul Hudson
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    221

    Default RE: Alpha seek floppy disk all the time

    A simple work round is to disable the floppy drive in the computer's BIOS (assuming you don't need to use the floppy drive - few of us do nowadays).

    Paul

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    joseph mar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    50

    Default RE: Alpha seek floppy disk all the time

    Have you applied the latest patch to your version of A4.

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Keith George
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Near Penzance Cornwall UK
    Posts
    205

    Default RE: Alpha seek floppy disk all the time

    Hi Salvador,

    When Alpha starts up does it run through an application or is there a script played on startup?

    Has the startup batch file been altered?

  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    Gary Smith
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    180

    Default Seek floppy disk Windows XP Pro

    I am having the same problem. I just replaced my hard drive and did a clean install of Windows XP pro. I installed A4V8. Every time I open a database, the floppy drive is searched. I have never saved a dbf file to floppy. I have found many posts re: this problem. Has there ever been a solution? TIA.

  12. #12
    Member
    Real Name
    Charles A. Halsall
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Belmopan, Belize, Central America
    Posts
    55

    Default Seek floppy disk Windows XP - 2000

    Hi Salvador,

    The only solution to this problems is to get rid of the floppy. Physically remove it, then remove it from the bios. If you do not remove it from the bios windows will still detect the drive and interestingly, A4v7 will still seek it.

    There will be some withdrawal symptoms but you will get over it. The speed of you applications on a fast machine will be almost unbelievable.

    Charles

  13. #13
    Member Mike Konoff's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Konoff
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    746

    Default

    Hey Charles,

    You say, "The only solution to this problems is to get rid of the floppy. Physically remove it, then remove it from the bios. If you do not remove it from the bios windows will still detect the drive and interestingly, A4v7 will still seek it."

    I've removed my floppy from my bios and even tried this on a laptop that's pretty darn fast. No luck. Still very long delays when opening forms, etc., versus doing the same things in A4V6. I'm using A4V8. How are you loading A4???

    You also say, "There will be some withdrawal symptoms but you will get over it. The speed of you applications on a fast machine will be almost unbelievable." I'm not seeing this at all with A4V8...to me, it's a dog WHEN it's run on WinXP. It screams on Win98 and run's faster for me than V6 in Win98. Do you run your A4 in a single user or multi user environment???

    Thanks,
    Mike
    Thank you,
    Mike Konoff

  14. #14
    Member
    Real Name
    Charles A. Halsall
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Belmopan, Belize, Central America
    Posts
    55

    Default Alpha seek floppy disk all the time

    Hey Mike,

    I should have given you some more details. The environment I tested this on consists of 32 machines running Windows 2000 and connected to a Netware 5.1 server. All workstations are running A4V7 runtime. They are all PC compatible clones built on VIA chipset motherboards with 500 MB ram. I do not run A4 on XP machines if I don’t have to. I had some issues with A4 not running on XP but thanks to you guys on this forum, I “think” I have solved the problem.

    I got tired of some users complaining about the delays whenever a script had to run the (co[database]{ENTER} command). This is the same action that turns on the floppy drive light. Once I disconnected the drives and selected the not install optioned in the bios, the delay, when running the above-mentioned command, was removed. Positive feedback from users was overwhelming.

    Another workaround to this problem is using desktops and switching as much as possible instead of the above-mentioned command.

    About the withdrawal symptoms; I was trying inject some humor into this discussion. I am also a Mac user and have had to drop the floppy drive since purchasing my first G4 machine in 2000.

    So long for now,

    Charles

    PS: I am a Jack-of-all-trades and master of none when it comes to computers and software. I taught myself Alpha4 and have built several applications that do very different things. While going about doing this, I have come across, and solved quite a few problems relating to working with Alpha4. My biggest problem over the years has been the regular corruption of database files when using Alpha4 in a multi-user environment. The fix is easy but I would really like to find a way to prevent it from happening.
    Last edited by cahalsall; 03-06-2006 at 02:08 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Alphabetical Seek buttons
    By Dave Wilson in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-05-2004, 03:26 PM
  2. Part time or full time Alpha Develoeprs
    By Henry Rothschild in forum Announcements
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-26-2004, 02:08 PM
  3. Seeking part time or full time Alpha Four and/or A
    By Henry Rothschild in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-18-2004, 12:01 AM
  4. Hide and seek
    By Joseph Claeys in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-30-2004, 08:58 AM
  5. Alpha Four - missing disk
    By Paul Leicester in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-03-2003, 01:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •