Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Help with scripts

  1. #1
    Ken Oberuch
    Guest

    Default Help with scripts

    I have beenrunning a application under A4v6 for six years without any problems. It seems that one of the scripts used for posting invoices paid in the check printing program has become corrupted. I have tried restoring this script from a backup. It appears in windows explorer, but does not appear in A4.

    Must a directory be updated or some other action taken?

    Thanks

    Ken

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve Pick
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    340

    Default RE: Help with scripts

    Ken,

    I just checked trying to creat a file A3.SCP (I have good scripts A1.SCP and A2.SCP) with Notepad. I wrote the word "test" in the file. ie I created a garbage script.

    In A4 the script shows up as a named script (using ALT F3) but I couldn't modify it like I could with A2 and A3.

    I used A4DOC to print out A3.SCP, but although I could make the request I got no output.

    Conclusion: If the file ?.SCP is there, you should be able to see it listed with Alpha (ALT F3) or A4 DOC. If it is corrupted, ie not an Alpha Script, you can't get it into the "Modify" Window of the SCRIPT editor to correct it.

    It can be seen by Notepad but you may have difficulty reading the non-text characters which form part of the file.

    I use Ztree and if one bit is corrupted and I can guess the correct representation I can correct at the disk level. Sometimes it works!

    Does this help or confuse you more?

    Steve

  3. #3
    Ken Oberuch
    Guest

    Default RE: Help with scripts

    Thanks Steve.

    The problem is that I don't see the script when I try to modify the scripts or debug the scripts using Alt F3. It just isn't there, although as I mentioned I can see it when I view scripts using Windows Explorer.

    In addition to trying to restore it from a tape backup I have gone back to the original application discs and copied this script. The copy found the script on the computer and asked if I wanted to replace it, which I did. However, it still doesn't appear in the scripts menu.

    Ken

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve Pick
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    340

    Default RE: Help with scripts

    Ken,

    I hate to ask the obvious, but have you set the correct path in A4 that you see in Explorer.

    With my test, it seemed to show that A4 will list all files with an extension of SCP when you use ALT F3 in that path. The modify won't work but we are not up to that point if I understand you correctly.

    Can you copy the script in explorer and past it somewhere else or rename it.

    If you want you can send it to me and I will see what it looks like.

    Steve

  5. #5
    Ken Oberuch
    Guest

    Default RE: Help with scripts

    Steve,

    Thanks for sticking with me on this one.

    I have checked the path previously and it is correct. That's one of the reasons I'm so perplexed that I can see it in explorer but not the listing.

    This morning I tried using A4Doc to see if the script showed up--couldn't reference it. Then, since I have a copy of the documentation for this script before the problem, I thought about recreating it. When I typed in the scripts name it asked if I wanted to override it. Alpha recognizes it somewhere.

    I'm emailing you a copy of the script from explorer.

    Thanks

    Ken

  6. #6
    Ken Oberuch
    Guest

    Default RE: Help with scripts

    Steve,

    Thanks for your email. I just tried copying and pasting the script that I sent you into scripts in explorer. It shows there, but still can't see it in the listing using AltF3. This is the original script that I copied from the application discs. Even tried a defrag on the drive this morning.

    Ken

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve Pick
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    340

    Default RE: Help with scripts

    Ken,

    Did you see my comment on the limit of 600 scripts.
    Page 18-33 V6 Manual.

    "You may create as many scripts as you like. However, if you have more than 600 scripts in one directory, Alpha four will only display the first 600 when you use the script menu commands to select a script."

    Steve

  8. #8
    Ken Oberuch
    Guest

    Default RE: Help with scripts

    Steve,

    I don't know the exact number of scripts associated with this application but I don't think it appoaches 600. The scripts are loaded in two directories ie: scripts 1 and scripts 2. Each of the listing starts with A and ends with Z and are shown in alpha order. I'm not at the office now but i'll check in explorer tomarrow to see if I can get a count on each directory.

    I don't know if I mentioned that this whole problem started one day when we were printing acct's payable checks. The program has several steps:
    Select invoices to pay
    Print checks
    Post printed checks to invoice and cash distrib. etc.
    This is oversimplified, but the process is carried out by executing various scripts. One day the checks printed, as selected, put then we got the message "unable to access file". We reached the conclusion that this had to do with the CKWBPOST script. Nothing that was supposed to happen following the printing of the checks took place.

    Some of this application uses a combination of Alpha and Fox.

    Keep your ideas coming.

    Thanks

    Ken


Similar Threads

  1. FYI Ver 5 & Ver 6 scripts
    By Ronald Anusiewicz in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-27-2004, 07:47 AM
  2. scripts
    By alev in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-03-2003, 08:20 AM
  3. Scripts Tab
    By BWilliams in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-03-2003, 07:42 AM
  4. Scripts
    By Rokrz in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-28-2001, 10:33 AM
  5. Scripts
    By James Peterson in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-04-2000, 06:29 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •