Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ALPHA4 in windows 98

  1. #1
    stuart messinger
    Guest

    Default ALPHA4 in windows 98

    I amtrying to run alpha4v4 in windows 98 and I keep getting
    the out of file handles Error
    I made the sugessted changes in the memory tab.
    will the fix for windows me work for windows 95?
    Thanks
    Stu Messinger

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ken Herrold
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    1,081

    Default RE: ALPHA4 in windows 98

    Stuart:

    Edit the 'config.sys' and include this line

    FILES=99

    Save it and re-boot ---- everything will be just fine.

    Ken

  3. #3
    Nancy Berkowitz
    Guest

    Default RE: ALPHA4 in windows 98

    I am running Alpha4v6.2 with windows 98 second edition. I have set buffers = 50 and files = 255. I am still getting "no more handles" messages when I try to open my sets. What can I do?

  4. #4
    stuart messinger
    Guest

    Default RE: ALPHA4 in windows 98

    opEN THE PROPERTIES WINDOW ON THE A4.EXE icon
    Under memory, set the folowing parameters
    set total:auto
    set initial:auto
    xms:8192
    check the "use hma" box
    set msdos:8192

    I have files = 250

    Stu Messinger

  5. #5
    Nancy Berkowitz
    Guest

    Default RE: ALPHA4 in windows 98

    Thanks I'll give it a try.

    Nancy Berkowitz

  6. #6
    Nancy Berkowitz
    Guest

    Default RE: ALPHA4 in windows 98

    I did that and I still get "no more handles". Does anyone have any suggestions?

    Nancy Berkowitz

  7. #7
    7ZNJABB
    Guest

    Default RE: ALPHA4 in windows 98

    What ken says is absolutely right, although you may have to create config.sys if it's not there. It will reside in the root of C: and contain only one line like Ken says.

    efs

  8. #8
    Nancy Berkowitz
    Guest

    Default RE: ALPHA4 in windows 98

    Thanks, that did it! I missed that config.sys file.

    Nancy Berkowitz

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    6,026

    Default RE: ALPHA4 in windows 98

    Funny thing

    255 handles wont always work, but 99 will

    Been in 98 for a long time with a4v6

    Dave

Similar Threads

  1. Error messages Alpha4, Windows 98
    By Kurt vonKnipper in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-29-2009, 09:56 PM
  2. Alpha4 and Windows XP
    By Ronald Anusiewicz in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-30-2002, 03:55 PM
  3. Windows 2000 Server with Windows 98 Client
    By Veronica Perez in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-03-2002, 06:09 AM
  4. moving alpha4.2 for Dos to Windows 98
    By Brian Harding in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-24-2001, 10:02 AM
  5. Alpha4 Version 6 won't run in Windows 2000 Prof.
    By tlski in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-28-2000, 01:39 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •