Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Error messages Alpha4, Windows 98

  1. #1
    Kurt vonKnipper
    Guest

    Default Error messages Alpha4, Windows 98

    I have recently copied over the program and data from a Win95 machine to a newer Win98 machine.

    Upon launching the program from the desktop shortcut, I receive the following error; DOS/4GW Professional error (2001): exception 0Dh (general protection fault) at 12F:00007CF5

    This has been done for my wife's office. I know nothing about the program or even DOS, I am ashamed to admit. It's entirely possible I have overlooked something in the transfer.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Russ Boehle
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    2,767

    Default RE: Error messages Alpha4, Windows 98

    I have no idea what would cause the message other than perhaps a corrupt dos extender file (dos 4gw). If you reinstall from the floppy's it should correct it if this is the problem. This won't affect your data but back it up just in case.

    Russ

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ronald Anusiewicz's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ronald Anusiewicz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Southampton, MA
    Posts
    1,583

    Default RE: Error messages Alpha4, Windows 98

    Kurt,

    I'm guessing that the DOS extender is having a problem loading into the upper memory area.

    Take a look at your config.sys file and see if the following lines are there.

    DOS=HIGH,UMB
    DEVICE = C:WINDOWSHIMEM.SYS
    DEVICE = C:WINDOWSEMM386.EXE NOEMS
    FILES=150

    If they are not, try adding them.

    Ron

  4. #4
    Kurt vonKnipper
    Guest

    Default RE: Error messages Alpha4, Windows 98

    Reinstalling will have to wait until the workday starts, that's assuming she can even find the disks.

    In the meantime I have added the lines you have suggested Ron. I get an error at bootup; The following file is missing or corrupted: C:WINDOWSHIMEM.SYS There is an error in your CONFIG.SYS file on line 2.

    The nomenclature repeats with C:WINDOWSEMM386.EXE with the error being on line 3.

    Remember I know absolutely nothing about DOS, having been a latecomer to the computing world. Have I just typed it incorrectly? Spaces and or whatnot? I feel that I have typed it as it appeared in your post.

    If it's important, I omitted from my first post that it is Alpha4v4, and Win98SE.

  5. #5
    Kurt vonKnipper
    Guest

    Default RE: Error messages Alpha4, Windows 98

    Well I threw some backslashes in those two lines and it will boot without the error messages now. Here is how they now appear;
    C:WINDOWSHIMEM.SYS
    C:WINDOWSEMM386.EXE

    Alas, to no avail. Still the same error message. I neglected to say before that, there is a considerable number of lines of additional information included after the error message. It will be quite time consuming to duplicate it here, but I will if anyone feels it necessary.

  6. #6
    Kurt vonKnipper
    Guest

    Default RE: Error messages Alpha4, Windows 98

    Interesting the backslashes did not appear in the post. I will try again.

    C:WINDOWSHIMEM.SYS
    C:WINDOWSEMM386.EXE

    I suspect they will not appear again.

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ronald Anusiewicz's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ronald Anusiewicz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Southampton, MA
    Posts
    1,583

    Default RE: Error messages Alpha4, Windows 98

    Kurt,

    There appears to be something wrong with this board. It will not allow or does not print backslashes.

    DOS=HIGH,UMB
    DEVICE = C:(backslash)WINDOWS(backslash)HIMEM.SYS
    DEVICE = C:(backslash)WINDOWS(backslash)EMM386.EXE NOEMS
    FILES=150

    Ron

  8. #8
    Kurt vonKnipper
    Guest

    Default RE: Error messages Alpha4, Windows 98

    Yeah, took me a while to figure it out.

    The problem has been solved. Evidently some file(s) got corrupted during the transfer. I transferred everything for a second time and all is well.

    Thank you both for the help!

  9. #9
    Member dpawley's Avatar
    Real Name
    David Pawley
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Error messages Alpha4, Windows 98

    Took some searching but finally found some info on DOS/4GW and that it requires the PATH environment variable to be 250 characters or less. I had not set a specific autoexec.nt file load with A4v7 but after I created one and added this line to reset the path variable for this DOS window Alpha4v7 ran fine.

    set PATH=C:\;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\system32;c:\a4v7

    c:\a4v7 can be replaced with your alpha program directory
    Dave

Similar Threads

  1. error messages
    By Sandra Anderson in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-14-2005, 02:53 PM
  2. Alpha4 and Windows XP
    By Ronald Anusiewicz in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-30-2002, 03:55 PM
  3. ALPHA4 in windows 98
    By stuart messinger in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-13-2001, 04:13 PM
  4. moving alpha4.2 for Dos to Windows 98
    By Brian Harding in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-24-2001, 10:02 AM
  5. Alpha4 Version 6 won't run in Windows 2000 Prof.
    By tlski in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-28-2000, 01:39 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •