Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: switch to network from single user

  1. #1
    Jim Parrie
    Guest

    Default switch to network from single user

    I have an instalation of Alpha 4 V6 that I have been using for years in single user mode on one machine. I recently networked a couple of machines together using Win98 peer to peer networking, and would like to be able to access my A4 files from one of those machines. I have a second single user version of A4, and from what I understand, that should be all I need.

    My question is do I need to create a user directory for the instalation I already have, or just the new install, or both?

    Has anyone done this that can walk me through the procedure?

    Thanks,

    Jim

  2. #2
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default RE: switch to network from single user

    Jim,

    I just did the same thing - except the network was Windows NT. I had my client purchase a five user network pack. The single user/network question only comes up when you do the initial installation - the software itself is network ready right out of the box.

    There are a number of ways you can build the A4 network configuration. What I opted to do was to install the .dbf files on the NT server (my client's drive S:) and the Alpha 4V6 program files on the user stations. The ONLY (minimum) glitch I ran into was having to redo the screen colors on each users system. Also, I found out the hard way that if the user makes a safety copy (not a backup in the true sense of the word, but a copy to send to you for safekeeping), you need to be aware the with the files on the network drive (drive S: file and record locking come into play. I had to request help regarding getting access to what my client sent. Turns out that all I had to do was right-mouse click and change the fileattributes.

    All is fine and my client thinks I'm the greatest, most knowledgeable computer person in the work, and I ain't telling 'em otherwise!! That way I can almost charge what I want ;-)

    Dave Jampole

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Russ Boehle
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    2,767

    Default RE: switch to network from single user

    To get arount eh UDN problem copy all the udn files and the *.pal file from one workstation where the colors are correct and install them on each client. From time to time I add dbf's or sets to our app. I use sneakernet to install the udn's with a batch file. They just need to be copied to each C:alpha4v6 or A4v6rt directory.

Similar Threads

  1. Single user to network
    By omar ramirez in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-27-2003, 02:50 PM
  2. switch to network server
    By Carolyn Simpson in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-15-2003, 05:47 AM
  3. Single user mode in XP
    By icha zenwirth in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-01-2002, 02:58 PM
  4. Setup for single user license on network
    By Greg Fong in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-02-2002, 05:46 AM
  5. Single user to Multi user Application
    By George in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-25-2001, 07:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •