Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: pRINTER DATABASE ERROR MESSAGE

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Robert Okrzynski
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    109

    Default pRINTER DATABASE ERROR MESSAGE

    When I start Alpha4v6, and open a database,and then press view, I get athe following error message: "Cannot initilalize printer database".

    I have been moving my files around to set up alpha on the network, so I must have moved a file that to the worng location.

    If someone could tell me the name of the file to look for and where it belongs I would really appreciate it.

    I am trying to configure followint the Example 2 screnario described in the manual on page 25-11 & 25-12.

    Please help.


    Thanks

    Bob Okrzynski

  2. #2
    Katie Hoverter
    Guest

    Default RE: pRINTER DATABASE ERROR MESSAGE

    Just logged in to this user board to see if anyone else had the same problem I have. I get the same message, but have not been doing anything different to our database. We have had this error message many times in the past, usually associated with the error message "no more file handles left" but have been able to resolve it powering down the system--all the way then rebooting and back into A4. This time that did not work. have you had any resolution to this problem? our system is networked.

  3. #3
    VAR csda1's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ira J Perlow
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    3,530

    Default RE: pRINTER DATABASE ERROR MESSAGE

    This issue has been covered so many times in this message board. Have either of you done a Search using "Printer Database" as a search item on this board?

    Let me encourage all users to do searches rather than constantly repeating the same questions and answers.

    Anyway, here is a previous answer I gave.

    "Copy the PRINTER.DTA and/or CPRINTER.DAT into either the Shared Network directory or your private User directory. It depends on the release version of Alpha 4 as to where they must be. It's easiest to put them both in both places."

    Regards,

    Ira J. Perlow
    Computer Systems Design & Associates
    csda@mediaone.net

Similar Threads

  1. cannot initialize printer database
    By Juanita in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-01-2015, 08:23 PM
  2. XDialog Script Error message - error 8011
    By brett s in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-08-2004, 03:41 PM
  3. Expected Value error message on opening database
    By Bill Rogers in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-07-2004, 10:44 PM
  4. Confued by Database Compact error message ...
    By drgarytraub in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 01-11-2004, 02:22 PM
  5. Cannot initialize printer database
    By Rokrz in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-20-2000, 03:05 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •