Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Font face

  1. #1
    Member Martin's Avatar
    Real Name
    Martin Wolff
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    376

    Default Font face

    The font face "Terminal" is available in Windows, as per the Character Map in my System Tools, but I can't select it in A5 when defining a font face for a report. Any idea why not? I want to use Terminal because I need to use some "graphic" lines, eg chr(197).

    Martin.

  2. #2
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,171

    Default RE: Font face

    Martin

    If you need a line, the report editor has lines available, either as a line or as a frame. Incidentally chr(197) is extended ASCII in DOS. In Windows, the extended character set is different and gives a different value. There are no ASCII graphic line values available in Windows. This has nothing to do with Alpha, it is a Windows convention.

    Jerry

  3. #3
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,171

    Default RE: Font face

    Incidentally, "terminal" is not available as a font in Microsoft Word either.

  4. #4
    Member Martin's Avatar
    Real Name
    Martin Wolff
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    376

    Default RE: Font face

    Yes, I agree with that. I actually need some of those old DOS-type graphics for a report too peculiar to bore you with the details. Not the end of the world, though; I'll work around it somehow. Thanks Jerry.

  5. #5
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,171

    Default RE: Font face

    Martin

    By playing with lines and frames you should be able to duplicate almost any graphic line need. For a vertical, just use a tall frame with a line only on one side. Since you can overlay objects, you can create some interesting effects. I have a report that was originaly in A4 that used graphic symbols. The user wanted the same report in A5. It took a little imagination, but the result was almost identical. If all else fails, you can always create a bitmap.

    Jerry

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Paul French
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    702

    Default RE: Font face

    There are true type fonts that offer the old DOS line drawing characters. If you install Lotus SmartSuite, there is a font called Lotus WPBox that contains the characters you want, and older versions of Corel Word Perfect Suite (version 8, in particular) came with a font called WP Box Drawing that contained the same characters. They are not mapped to the same character positions that you reference, but they're there.

    There are probably some freeware fonts out there, too, if you poke around a bit.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Paul French
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    702

    Default RE: Font face

    a Google search for gc0651 should return a number of sites with a Microsoft truetype Line Draw font that was released for Windows 3.1 and (I haven't checked it) replicates the Courier font for the regular character set.

Similar Threads

  1. Font Pack
    By Mike Champion in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-20-2004, 07:55 PM
  2. Font Problem
    By Angela Stennes in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-14-2001, 01:48 PM
  3. Arial Font and Postal Code Font
    By Rhett Scott in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-14-2001, 07:39 AM
  4. Font Expression
    By forskare in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-29-2000, 08:31 PM
  5. Odd Font Printouts
    By robert bannerman in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-10-2000, 11:35 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •