Alpha Video Training

Thread: Date Variable Search

Ken Fleming

Default Date Variable Search

I searched this message board for answers to this that I can use but came up blank. Not that I did not find anything but something I can understand for I am new at A5. I need something that will let me run a search for a date with beginning and ending dates. I read and copied off several scripts but where to put them is a complete mystery to me. Tried every posted zip for an answer but nothing works for what I need. I have one that works in an Application that works that someone sent me but getting that into my own, I just cannot follow the procedure they used. I need something simple, tried a query that works to a browse but will not work when I print to a report for it gets all the data in the table. Tried calucated but got errors on that too. I am at a total loss at what to do to get the results. I know it must be simple but I am MISSING it somewhere. If it possible for someone to post a Working SIMPLE Example as exactly what to it would me MUCH Appreciated.

Ken

Real Name
    Fred Daniel

Default RE: Date Variable Search

I missed that also. In the older version of Alpha4v6 and 7 it was easy to creat a form that poped up and allowed the user to enter a begining date and an ending date which then was placed in variables such as(Begining Date: and Ending Date:) and then you copuld run a report that would filter for those dates entered by the end user. It seems that Alpha should have created a Geni for mthat one because it is the heart of database reporting. It should be a standard function. I've always thought that Alpha's documentation was very weak in that area.

Real Name
    Craig Schumacker

Ken and Fred:

It's so easy, you'll probably kick yourself! I remember experiencing the very same feeling a few years ago. I remember the feeling so strongly, I thought I'd take a shot at explaining how it's done.

There are two examples in the attached example.