Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: incorrect data type, method not found errors

  1. #1
    W. Horton
    Guest

    Default incorrect data type, method not found errors

    HELP!

    I'm trying to convert a version 1.02 to version 4, yes I know I'm a few days behind, but at least I'm doing it. I have created this small script to show my problem. I am getting several different errors. For the purpose of clarity I have added line numbers to help identify the problems. Running on either Win95 or Win98 I have encounter the following. I am using version 4.03, build 230.


    1 dim ax as c
    2 dim az as n
    3 dim tblx as n

    4 tblx = table.open("c:\null.dbf", FILE_RW_SHARED)
    5 tblx.change_begin()
    5a change_begin(tblx)


    6 if tblx.mode_get() = 1 then
    7 ui_msg_box("change mode","")
    8 end if

    9 ax = tblx.filename_get()
    10 table.close(tblx)

    11 end


    if I use line 5 instead of line 5a I get a "tblx.change_begin() method not found" error.

    line 6 is exactly as in the version 4 book, but I get an "Argument is incorrect data type" error

    line 9 returns a a "tblx.filename_get() method not found" error.

    line 10 gives an "Argument is incorrect data type" error

    these are just a few that I am encountering, and I have just started out on this quest. What is wrong?

    Warren


  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ohlen Cartmell
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,599

    Default RE: incorrect data type, method not found errors

    Try for line 3:

    dim tblx as p

  3. #3
    W. Horton
    Guest

    Default RE: incorrect data type, method not found errors

    Sometimes I feel so stupid.... well that's another story. I did find a previous complaint and apparently I have not mastered the difference between forms and tables. Once I read the previous replies it worked to add the word "table" to the beginning of the command. I have to read more but I think I am on the right road. It is apparently a VERY long road to convert v1 to v4, but it's a the county expense so I will attempt to diligently convert as quickly as possible to save the taxpayers some money.....(did I say that out loud??) IF there are anyone else that can explain the differences so that even I, a county emplyee, can understand, I thank you in advance.

    Warren

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,310

    Default RE: incorrect data type, method not found errors

    I like Dr. Wayne's book, available from Alpha, called Xbasic for Everyone.

    There are a lot of useful articles at his web site, too.
    www.learnalpha.com

    And, don't forget the code archive here. It's one of the forums in this message board.

    -- tom

Similar Threads

  1. incorrect data type
    By John Haytko in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-14-2004, 06:02 PM
  2. incorrect data type
    By madtowng in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-04-2004, 12:49 PM
  3. Argument is incorrect data type
    By scottly in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-05-2004, 02:36 PM
  4. Newbie needs help with incorrect data type
    By michaelklein in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-13-2003, 08:55 AM
  5. Argument is Incorrect Data Type
    By Howard G. Cornett in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-02-2003, 01:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •