Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: To shadow or not to shadow

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    gfong
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    369

    Default To shadow or not to shadow

    If I make structural changes to my tables (add fields, change field size), do I have to re-shadow all the client machines connected to my database?

  2. #2
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,172

    Default RE: To shadow or not to shadow

    Greg

    Yes and no. If the only change is in the table structure, then the answer is no, since the shadow only uses a pointer to the table. On the other hand, if you make any changes to forms, browses, scripts, reports, etc to make use of the new structure, then yes, you must refresh the shadow. Since this is likely, refresh the shadow. If in doubt, refresh the shadow anyway.

    Jerry

Similar Threads

  1. Shadow
    By Bill@TrackerSystems.com in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-16-2005, 09:17 AM
  2. shadow
    By Lanny Tonning in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-06-2005, 09:46 AM
  3. Add-ins on a LAN - shadow??
    By drgarytraub in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-15-2003, 07:10 PM
  4. Shadow only
    By Richard Neal in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-08-2001, 11:14 PM
  5. Shadow only
    By Richard Neal in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-08-2001, 11:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •