Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: No CD problems loading network

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    gfong
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    369

    Default No CD problems loading network

    I have a network with a CDROM on the server. The other machines have floppies. How do I go about loading the five node version 4.5 on the other machines?

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Daryl Grace
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Hopkinsville, KY
    Posts
    165

    Default RE: No CD problems loading network

    Greg,
    Make sure the CDROM is shared on the server. Then each machine can access the CDROM drive and run the setup file.

    Daryl

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    steven reid
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    63

    Default RE: No CD problems loading network

    Copy the entire A5 cd onto your server, then run the setup program for A5 on hte server, from each of your workstations.
    ie create an apps directory in your main server and copy the cd to it. From each workstation do:
    Start->run->\\server_name\apps
    double click the setup icon for the version you want to install on your workstation.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    gfong
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    369

    Default RE: No CD problems loading network

    Thanks I'll try this out tomorrow.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    gfong
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    369

    Default RE: No CD problems loading network

    I tried it but I get a message saying that odbc32.dll can't be found when I try to run the program. This happens on an NT workstation as well as the WIN 95 machines.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,310

    Default RE: No CD problems loading network


    Greg, search the message board for similar situations involving ODBC. If I recall correctly unless your app actually uses ODBC to connect with other external data sources the error message is inconsequential. Otherwise, you will of course have to install ODBC on each station that's going to use it. (Hope I've got that right!) -- tom

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    gfong
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    369

    Default RE: No CD problems loading network

    The program refuses to run without it.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,310

    Default RE: No CD problems loading network

    Maybe this thread will help:

    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/alphaphorum/read.php3?sortby=lastreply&direction=desc&num=4&id=50178&thread=50167

    (it's one long line, even though the message board may display it differently.)

    -- tom

  9. #9
    David Sander
    Guest

    Default RE: No CD problems loading network

    Greg,

    The install program tests for the existance of the windows file, not what's in it. If you are sure the file is not going to be used, you can create your own blank odbc32.dll file and plae it in the system directory.

    A better method would be to search the computer for any copies of this file and include them. You might be able to find a copy of this fine on one of the install disks for Windows as an optional file. Some variety of the file should also be downloadable from the Microsoft web site too.

    Dave

Similar Threads

  1. Slow Loading over network only specific sets
    By rcbobsmith in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-22-2013, 02:31 PM
  2. Network problems please help
    By Haroon Haffejee in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-11-2004, 11:46 PM
  3. Any one have registry problems when loading A5?
    By Daniel Glezer in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 05-30-2004, 03:29 PM
  4. Problems Loading Form
    By Sean Barry in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-23-2001, 02:06 PM
  5. Network problems ...
    By drgarytraub in forum Code Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-13-2000, 07:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •