Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Required

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default Required

    Using A5v4.5, I set a field rule to "required" and ran into 2 problems:

    1) On some forms, I can enter and exit the field w/o entering data and upon clicking the close button to close the form, the the message pops up advising to enter data into the required field. However, when I click OK on that message, the form closes and I don't get to enter the data.

    2) On other forms, same scenario except the message appears immediately after exiting the field. This time, when clicking OK, no matter where I click, the required field or any other, the message keeps popping up and I can't get back into the required field. Must use the Ctrl-Alt-Delete to get out of the app, the only way I can move on.

    Any ideas what's causing this?

    Thanks,

    kenn

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Bill Warner
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    905

    Default RE: Required

    Did you try this with the default form?

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,311

    Default RE: Required

    Ken,

    I think Bill is asking the right question. My guess is that you have scripts running in the form which are interacting with the field rule.

    In my work I've found that it's often easier to abandon this particular field rule, and put the same logic in my Save Changes button on the form. Before saving the record my script validates the field and cancels the save if a necessary element is missing.

    --tom

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default RE: Required

    Bill,

    No, I didn't try it with the default form.

    Tom,

    Yes, your idea is a much better way to do it. It certainly takes 'awhile' to learn the ins and outs of A5. I'll work at it from that angle.

    Thanks,

    kenn

Similar Threads

  1. Cookies still required to be 'on'?
    By CALocklin in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-17-2005, 12:39 PM
  2. Conditionally required
    By Ed Edgar in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-25-2004, 05:58 AM
  3. Assistance Required
    By David Nolan in forum UK Users
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-08-2003, 03:21 AM
  4. Required-now not required, Problem
    By Leslie Blades in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-19-2003, 06:27 AM
  5. Required Fields
    By russ Boehle in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-24-2003, 06:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •