Alpha Video Training
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 41

Thread: "HAVE AT IT" Update :)

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Wanda Tucker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,444

    Default "HAVE AT IT" Update :)

    Okay - all you wonderfully helpful and supportive folk...two things just happened that I'll share. One, I checked on some data that I had entered in one of those infamous tables (WRAP Roster), and found that the monetary figures had reverted back to what they were on Wed of last week. I had made the changes on Thur. Supposedly, data is backed up on Tue, Wed, and Thur, by the server. Bottom line, I gave in and started working with the data, only to discover it's now messing up more than ever...I will stick to my guns and refuse to even open Alpha until IT is willing to work with me.

    The second thing is that just before my boss was interrupted by the phone, he mentioned that IT is now looking into making my system a stand-alone system, again. So, it looks like I may have won this battle.

    I'll keep you posted.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Russ Boehle
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    2,767

    Default RE:

    Either you're in a time warp or someone has restored data over the network. I have watched your thread and I wonder if perhaps you have a backup program on the server that is supposed to backup the clients on the network (overnight)that is programmed (scripted) wrong and is restoring your files to a previous version. One way to prevent this is to unplug the network cable before you leave at the end of the day. IT might not like this though.

    Nahhh!
    Probably a time warp.

    Russ

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    jim chapman
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,779

    Default RE:

    Hello Wanda,

    As I said before, this stuff just doesn't happen all by itself. IMHO, Alpha has nothing to do with what is happening. Somebody, something, some routine, is messing with your data, probably inadvertantly. Do you have a zip drive? If not, you can find them for as little as $50. Copy the database folder (hopefully you have all files in the same folder) to the zip drive at night and carry the zip disk with you. Now when you have weird data replacement happening, check the zip drive and you will find that your data is as you left it. Even with your IT department calling the shots, you can still take control of the situation. If you did your own backup each night to a zip, then in the morning you could copy your backed up files from the zip over the server files. You can take control of this situation. Again, IMHO it has nothing to do with Alpha.

    Good luck,
    Jim

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    ed taylor
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    calgary alberta canada
    Posts
    552

    Default RE:

    hi:

    randomness is not on the side of your im dept..

    "One, I checked on some data that I had entered in one of those infamous tables (WRAP Roster), and found that the monetary figures had reverted back to what they were on Wed of last week."

    i think you've got a "smoking gun" scenerio, data would have no way of randomly going back to a pre-dfined state. a check of the backup maintenance schedules should reveal where things have gone awry. perhaps an automated backup is not as it should be.

    if you ever do find the answer post it! ... this is a pretty good cliff-hanger.


    regards,

    ed

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default RE:

    Jim's suggestion is sound. I have at least one extra zip drive. Just let me know where you want it sent. No charge.

    We gonna beat this sucker yet.

  6. #6
    Mick Magnuson
    Guest

    Default RE:

    I have to agree Ed. Watching this one to see how it turns out. "As Wandas IT World Turns". If I had to choose, I would go with Russ's faulty backup/restore. That sounds the most logical. Altho, you would think someone else would notice other files changing. Interesting, very interesting.

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Wanda Tucker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,444

    Default HAVE AT IT UPDATE :)

    Hey all - so why did the subject on this thread only say "RE" - or is that just my machine. I've re-entered the subject, this post, so maybe it'll show up...does everyone else see just "RE"?


    Russ, restoring a previous version of a backup could be one problem, but that wouldn't explain why dates entered back to 1999 were deleted. We're probably experiencing 2 or more problems...I say "we", because of the following my original thread has acquired. No, I don't have a zip drive - I used to, and had no problems...then IT "upgraded" my system - new flat screen and all - but no ability to backup from my setup.

    Jim - Great idea :) They can do whatever they want with my data - I'll just restore it every morning (as soon as I get a zip drive) - and we'll all live happily ever after :)

    Stan - YOU'RE SO GENEROUS!!! I may take you up on that offer, but I think my supe is getting one ordered for me...I will let you know. THANK YOU!

    Ed, ya' know - I could always ask IT AGAIN when and how the server is set up to back up my system...but would I know if the answer is accurate? What's the rule, here - get the same answer 3 times in a row and it means it's correct? HMMM, may be on to something, here..."Cliff hanger", huh? This IS a good plot - my little wheels are turning, now. Just imagine where the story could lead...wasn't there a threat of a sledge hammer coming down on my system, last week? I could go bezonkers and end up in the nut farm - or, my altered data could reveal some secret, governmental plot, or...well, you get the jist - maybe I should go back to writing novels! Unfortunately, I don't think we'll ever really know what the problem(s) is (are).

    Mick - LOVE THE TITLE...As Wanda's IT World Turns...as I mentioned to Russ, a faulty b/u-restore could be one problem, but that doesn't explain why dates entered back in 1999 have been deleted. Also, the reason no one else is noticing the problems is because I'm the only one using the Alpha program, here.

    Lately, when I give my Supe a report, I state that it's a toss up as to whether it's accurate...well - that's the truth!

    Stay tuned for the next episode of, "As Wanda's IT World Turns".

    Wanda - guess I'll have to come up with a pen name... how's Vindy Vondie Voo!!!

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,312

    Default RE: HAVE AT IT UPDATE :)

    Wanda,

    I've noticed that quotation marks in the subject line of a reply have strange results sometimes. Maybe that's what blanked out the original subject description...

    -- tom

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Wanda Tucker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,444

    Default RE: HAVE AT IT UPDATE :)

    Hi Tom. I wondered if that was it...I'll refrain from now on, from using quotations in the subject line. Thanks :)

  10. #10
    VAR Pat Bremkamp's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat Bremkamp
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    2,645

    Default RE: HAVE AT IT UPDATE :)

    Wanda,

    If there is a problem with the backup and restore, then you can test it.
    Go to notepad and create a file called today.txt and put in today's date. Then, save it in the same directory as your Alpha data.

    Tomorrow, open today.txt and have a look. If the file doesn't exist, then an old version of the directory was restored. If it does, it should be yesterday's (today's) date. If it is, update it and try again the next day.

    I the dates don't work, you have hard evedence that has nothing to do with A5!

    Pat

  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Wanda Tucker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,444

    Default RE: HAVE AT IT UPDATE :)

    Thanks, Pat. I'll do that. I'll send a post tomorrow a.m. to let you know :) - Vindy Vondie Voo

  12. #12
    "Certified" Alphaholic Melvin Davidson's Avatar
    Real Name
    Melvin Davidson
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Parker, CO
    Posts
    1,197

    Default RE:

    Wanda,

    Two things.

    1. I'd like to modify someone's previous suggestion of a temporary 'disconnect' from the network.
    If you really don't need/want the network, then...
    A. Remove the network cable from the back of the computer.
    B. Place a little piece of scotch tape over the cable connecter.
    C. reinsert the cable.

    It should take a few days before someone figures out what is going on (relealize they have a problem). :)
    If the problem doesn't happen during that time, voila! It's a network problem!

    2. Forget "As Wanda's IT World Turns". Try "Where Wanda's Data Wanders". :)

  13. #13
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Wanda Tucker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,444

    Default RE:

    Hi Melvin - Excellent idea! I'd have to do this at night before going home, and then remove it in the a.m., because the server is also my connection to the internet. If I couldn't get to this message board, I'd really go insane! The other possible problem is that my data may be stored on the server at all times. Sure, I could copy it all over to Drive C - but then Drive C recently acted like a shared drive...it could just "look" like C drive, but really be a shared drive. Can anyone tell me if the real drive C can be hidden? The real Drive C HAS to be there, doesn't it? GEEZ!!! I never in my life thought I'd be so obsessed with getting my own zip drive!


    BTW - the novel/movie/sitcom name is catchy...how about, "Things That Go Bump In The Night, When Wanda's Data Doesn't Deliver..." There was a witch called Wanda, remember? LOL!

    Vindy Vondie Voo

  14. #14
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default RE:

    There was A Fish Named Wanda as well.

  15. #15
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Wanda Tucker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,444

    Default RE:

    And Wicked Wanda...but I always correct people and try to make them believe that it's Wonderful Wanda! Mostly, people think of me as Wacked-out Wanda, or Wretched Wanda...I heard, though, that there was a Steelhead named Stan, but I suppose you'd much better relate to Stupendous Stan!

  16. #16
    Member
    Real Name
    Tom Lyon
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    610

    Default RE:

    I know what your data did last night :)

    Tom Lyon

  17. #17
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Wanda Tucker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,444

    Default RE:

    Oh my - do tell!

    Actually - I CAN MAKE MY DATA DO WHATEVER I WANT IT TO - and YOU, TOO, can have this kind of POWER! It comes in the form of a little satin bag, chock full of 1-digit numbers. I call it the EDB - short for Emergency Data Bag. It's also VERY EASY TO USE. All one must do is simply pull out a handfull of digits, and arrange them according to what you need your numbers to prove. Wala! I am selling them for $9.95 each, plus tax and shipping. Orders can be sent to me at tuckerooni@hotmail.com - HONESTLY! Try it - you'll like it!

    PS. I am not set up to accept credit cards. Please make checks payable to Wanda J. Tucker.

    thank you!

  18. #18
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    jim chapman
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,779

    Default RE:

    Hello As the IT turns Wanda,

    The backup could be one issue, but your drive mappings could very well be an issue as well. Are all your files in a single folder? A database (which is simply a file that tells Alpha what tables/set and where they are located)can contain files from any physical location. It kind of sounds like your files may be 'co-mingled' and cross referenced, possibly over baked.............

    Good luck,
    Jim

  19. #19
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    jim chapman
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,779

    Default RE:

    Hello As the IT turns Wanda,

    The backup could be one issue, but your drive mappings could very well be an issue as well. Are all your files in a single folder? A database (which is simply a file that tells Alpha what tables/set and where they are located)can contain files from any physical location. It kind of sounds like your files may be 'co-mingled' and cross referenced, possibly over baked.............

    Good luck,
    Jim

  20. #20
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Wanda Tucker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,444

    Default RE:

    No, my files are not all in one folder. I have one folder set up that has sub-folders that contain only Alpha files. This happened when I didn't know how to create/name a control panel (and still don't...). The files are all organized with like files, however, in each folder. sometimes I need to add a table to a control panel that is physically stored in another folder. This should not be a problem, though...it was never a problem, before, that I was ever made aware of - other than when i wanted to reorganize all my files, and the pointers were still looking for the original folder that it was created in.

    Is my ignorance showing, yet?!

  21. #21
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default RE:

    Better yet, I know what her data did last summer.

  22. #22
    Ray Fernandez
    Guest

    Default RE:

    Hi Wanda,

    I,ve reviewed the information that was send to me privately. I am not sure who let you to believe that drive “D” was a network drive, but that is not correct. Based on this information, the only drive that maps to a network on your computer is drive “S”.

    The solution for this problem is quite simple, but the following steps must be followed.

    You must move all your data back to the “C” drive. The reason for this is to make sure that the application is working properly for a least a week before the data could be properly moved to a proper network drive.

    Also make sure your application does not referenced any exclusive directory paths;

    Examples: “c:dirfiles”

    I’m now under some confusion as to whether your files are under the same directory, this needs to be fixed, before attempting to move the files.

    At this point, if you access your files using drive “D”, based on your information, them you are on a local drive. This drive might be shared for backups, but you said at the end of the day, you turn of your computer and you go home. If this is indeed shared for backups (Drive D), the moment the computer was turned off, no way could a backup be perform.

    If you access your data using Drive “S”, then you are on a network map drive. But if your application on the “S” drive, tries to access data on multiple directories and some of these directories have exclusive directory paths, the problems you are encountering will remain.

    You must move your data to the "C" drive, you must remove all exclusive paths from your application, you must put all your data under one folder. After this is done and your application is running fine for a week, them copy or move your data to the “S” drive.

    Hope this Helps
    RF-ARS-Motorola

  23. #23
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Wanda Tucker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,444

    Default RE:

    Good morning, Ray -

    I'm not sure that D really is a local drive, because when I go into My Computer, and Properties of DATA(D:), under the Sharing Tab, the Share Name is D$, and the Comment is Default Share. So, does this not mean that it is really a shared drive, posing as a local drive? Drive C says the same thing.

    Last week I copied all my data to Drive C, deleted sensitive data, zipped it and posted it. When I returned to the D drive, I found that the exact same data had been deleted from there, as well...so, I'm real hesitant at this point to do anything to any moved or copied data. It's really, really odd - but it seems af it drive D and C are the same drive. In fact, could IT have made it look like Drive D is real, but in fact, it's a fake?

    RE my data being "backed up" by the server - I believe that I am really working with the data on a shared drive during the day (drive D - I don't access it through the S drive). I shut my pc off at night, log on in the morning at which point the files that I had manipulated the day before have been written over with the previous day's work, PLUS some other wacko function that arbitrarily deletes stuff.

    Bottom line - whatever I do with my files can be undone at any given time by the IT. I refuse to work under these conditions. I have gone on strike and am not working with my data - not even opening up Alpha - until I get a zip drive installed. My supe agreed to give me one - but the IT dept won't be able to install it for a week or two. In the meantime, I'm helping out other people, here in the office with filing and whatever...When I get the zip drive, I'll just back up every night and restore the next morning. That way I'll be happy, and IT can do whatever the hell they want to with my data - wala! They'll be happy, too.

    Sound like a good plan to you?

    Thank you Ray, for all your many suggestions and hours of help. If you can see anywhere that I might be tripping myself up with regard to the zip drive, please let me know.

    Sincerely,
    Wanda

  24. #24
    "Certified" Alphaholic Melvin Davidson's Avatar
    Real Name
    Melvin Davidson
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Parker, CO
    Posts
    1,197

    Default RE:

    Wanda,

    I think you are confusing a "shared" drive with a "network" drive.

    When a drive is "shared", it just means that other users on the network can see, view, read and/or write to that drive.

    The location of drive may be either local or network.

    A "network" drive on the other hand, is a "mapped" drive that physically (usually) resides on the network server.

    You actually should have the ability to "turn off" the sharing for you local drives. Just right click on them and then chose the "not shared" option under the sharing tab.

  25. #25
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Wanda Tucker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,444

    Default RE:

    Hi Melvin,
    You're right - I am confusing shared with networked - and am utterly confused and disgusted with the both of them!!! I hope to NEVER HAVE TO WORK WITH A NETWORK - but I know that is antiquated thinking...kind of like an old farmer saying she'll NEVER LEARN TO DRIVE A CAR! Well, sort of...


    So, if a shared drive is not networked, then how could my shared drive C, affect my shared drive D? I tried to change the properties on drive C from "Share this folder" to "Do not share this folder"...but I was denied access.


    If one wanted to learn about networking, where would one start? Is there a Networks For Dummies book?

    -Wanda

  26. #26
    VAR Pat Bremkamp's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat Bremkamp
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    2,645

    Default RE:

    Wanda,

    This is really getting messy.

    Maybe you know tis aleady, but, I have a recommendation.
    You want to put all your files in single drectory, but it is not as easy as just copying them there. A better way is to go to the files tab of the control panel and in the top right corner, select the view with the tool tip "details".
    Now, you will see the full path to the table.
    one by one, for each table that is not in the directory you want, right click and pick "duplicate the database". Then when it asks you for a name, use the same name but save it in the consolidation directory. Once it's there, delete the other table. Choose to duplicate all forms,data and indexes.
    Once they are all moved, compact the database.

    Now test it.

  27. #27
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Russ Boehle
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    2,767

    Default RE:

    Another thing to look at here is if the local drive has a share on it then some other user (you'll have to look at the share properties to see who has access) can access and change your files. Unless there is some reason for the share you might want to remove it to prevent others from screwing up your data.

    Russ

  28. #28
    "Certified" Alphaholic Melvin Davidson's Avatar
    Real Name
    Melvin Davidson
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Parker, CO
    Posts
    1,197

    Default RE:

    Ah Wanda,

    now we get to the root of the matter!

    "So, if a shared drive is not networked, then how could my shared drive C, affect my shared drive D? I tried to change the properties on drive C from "Share this folder" to "Do not share this folder"...but I was denied access.

    Well, I cannot determine how the "C" drive affects the "D" drive right now, but I no this. The reason you were denied access to change the sharing is that someone else has Adminstrator privileges! Instead of logging on with your user id and password, trying signing on as "Administrator" and "Adminstrator" as the password. If you are successful, you should be able to make the changes. If not, see if you can find "Administrative Tools" (utilities?) in the program options. If you do, there should be on to maintain users. That should give you an idea of whom has access to your computer.

    "Is there a Networks For Dummies book?"
    As a matter of fact, I believe there is. BTW, I believe
    "Network" is a bad name. From your own experience, you know it don't "work", which is why you probably need to be contained in a "net". :)




  29. #29
    Gren Brown
    Guest

    Default RE:

    Just a thought, in the dark ages of DOS you could use the subst command to change a drive letter. So the command subst d: c: would indeed make the two drives see exactly the same files. Check that this is not in the autoexec.bat file on your computer.

  30. #30
    Thomas Henkel
    Guest

    Default RE:

    Russ may have a very valid point. If your drive is shared, and someone else has a dtatbase management package or even excel, they CAN change your tables. Excel has an incredibly easy routiine to read and save .dbf files! I would run, not walk to IT and have them remove the shaes. Something else you may want to do is to check who is using your disks. Windows has a tool, "netwatcher?" that informs you who is using your files.
    DOes someone there have it in for you and your project??? You said you worked for a county. Politics may have something to play in all of this. I also work for a county, maybe we should compare notes.

    This may all be for naught, but it may be somethig to look into.

    Tom

Similar Threads

  1. Database Compact - "Could not update"
    By drgarytraub in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-06-2003, 05:29 AM
  2. Previous not "locked" to "Auto"
    By Richard Froncek in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-05-2003, 01:03 PM
  3. Update to the Book "Step-By-Step" when?
    By Mark James in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-2002, 08:14 AM
  4. goto "0"; resume "0"
    By martinwcole in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-14-2001, 08:41 AM
  5. "Could not update jobpack..."
    By Mick Magnuson in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2000, 02:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •