Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Set links misbehave

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Stephen Williams
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    930

    Default Set links misbehave

    I have a set with a one to one (first match) link, and cascade changes on. It is actually at the Child - Grandchild level. I do it to keep a memo field and some fields to hold summary data.

    It is acting up. If I am at the last Child record, and start to edit the linked Grandchild data in the embedded text field(in a one to one link) the data resynchs to look at the first child record and I find I am editing the wrong grandchild record.

    If I edit the memo using the memo editor it stays corectly linked.

    If I edit the set and make it a one to many link none of the grandchild records show at all.

    I have a special field for linking that is based on two fields in the Child table. In the grandchild it is a simple text field.

    Anyway - what is up with
    a) edit mode causing pointers to misfire
    b) switching the set definition causing the link to fail

    And for extra credit... what can I do to fix it.

    P.S. I have packed, updated indexes and compacted.

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,644

    Default RE: Set links misbehave

    Stephen,
    And for extra credit... what can I do to fix it.

    I don't know how much credit I'll get, but, I finally learned that lesson. I do most (but not all*) child, etc. editing in popup dialogs based upon the table. Hence, no problems.

    *simple child browses seem to be reliable

    Peter

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Stephen Williams
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    930

    Default RE: Set links misbehave

    Thanks Peter - I just finished creating a quickie form exactly this way... and it works.

    You can have the credit. Your response validates my solution so I won't lay awake thinking about it any more.

    I think it is a weakness in Alpha Five. Or perhaps the weakness is in my design allowed by the power of Alpha Five. Don't fix it for me...if it persists in version 5 maybe we can revisit it there.

Similar Threads

  1. Too many links in a set
    By Daniel King in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-19-2003, 01:56 PM
  2. Links
    By Terry Mudge in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-24-2002, 01:23 PM
  3. Many to many links in a set, I think?
    By BDennis in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-03-2001, 12:31 PM
  4. BAD LINKS
    By Hendrik Krosschell in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-18-2001, 05:46 AM
  5. set design and links
    By E Jaffe in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-09-2000, 11:17 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •