Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Trace Window

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Tom Campbell
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    149

    Default Trace Window

    When moving from my Main Menu to a button selection, I get a warning and advice to check the trace window.

    Warning [1]: Cannot load browse: companion to cust browse.
    Warning [2]: Cannot load browse: comp to view cust.
    Both of these no longer exist and there is NO call to them anywhere. I copied these, named them using standard underscore convention, reselected the new browse name and deleted the original. Where else might pointers to these browses exist?

    Warning [1]: Error(s) opening rules for field: CITY
    Warning [2]: Error parsing 'default value' rules fill in expression.
    I have gone through field rules for CITY with a fine tooth comb and see absolutely nothing that might be causing this.

    Any suggestions?
    Thanks
    tc

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Tom Campbell
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    149

    Default RE: Trace Window

    Never mind onthe browse error.
    Found it.
    The City error is still baffling, however.
    The only field rule changes I made were always required and auto advance.

    tc

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,307

    Default RE: Trace Window

    Tom,

    If I were you, I'd compact the database, then I'd exit Alpha Five, start it again, then re-open the database and resume testing.

    -- tom

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    JohnZaleski
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    1,736

    Default RE: Trace Window

    If compacting doesn't help, try going into the field rules for city and look at the default mode for city. Even if it says none, go into into the simple and conditional options and see if there is something left over that Alpha doesn't like. By the way, do you get the message going into the default form fo the table or set involved?

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Tom Campbell
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    149

    Default RE: Trace Window

    Tom and John,
    Did what both said.
    Fixed.
    Thanks.
    tc

Similar Threads

  1. trace window
    By Alan Lee in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-03-2004, 09:36 PM
  2. Trace Window
    By Bernard Posner in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-03-2002, 07:40 PM
  3. Trace window
    By Richard Froncek in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-10-2001, 06:32 AM
  4. Trace window
    By Richard Froncek in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-10-2001, 02:10 AM
  5. Trace Window
    By Rachel Hardy in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-15-2001, 12:09 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •