New call-to-action
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Drop Down List Box and Entry Mode

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default Drop Down List Box and Entry Mode

    I have a form with 2 drop down list boxes. They work fine during data entry. However, when I do a Query by Form or a Find by Form, the message, "Table not in change or entry mode" appears. There is no code attached to either drop down.

    I've searched the board for others with this problem but didn't find an answer.

    Anyone want to take a shot at what's causing this?

    Thanks,

    kenn

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,317

    Default RE: Drop Down List Box and Entry Mode

    Ken, are you trying to use choices or values inside the listbox in the query by form? Or, are you saying that just having the listboxes on the form (but not using them in the QBF) causes the problem?

    -- tom

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default RE: Drop Down List Box and Entry Mode

    Thanks Tom,

    It's the former. I've tried it on other apps so does this mean that a drop down list box can't be used in QBF 7 FBF?

    Tell me it can???

    kenn

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,317

    Default RE: Drop Down List Box and Entry Mode

    Ken,

    I've got almost no experience with listboxes.

    I've always assumed that listboxes were populated with variables, not live fields. If so, I'm not sure QBF or FBK will be able to use them.

    Can you post a working model here, that illustrates what you are attempting?

    -- tom

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default RE: Drop Down List Box and Entry Mode

    I created a attached a small example. QBF & FBF work as along as the drop down list box does not have focus.


    I'm presuming that drop down list boxes to not allow usage of QBF & FBF.

    Thanks,

    kenn

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default RE: Drop Down List Box and Entry Mode

    Got too quick with the mouse so doin' it this time.

    kenn

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,317

    Default RE: Drop Down List Box and Entry Mode

    Ken,

    You've specified a field in your table as the choice in the listbox. I don't think it's intended to be used that way.

    I've always assumed that one would populate the listbox with choices for the user to select from. These would be defined in the properties of the listbox while designing the form, or populated on the fly using xbasic.

    The listbox would then function like a simple list lookup field rule, and using items in the list for QBF for FBF would not pertain.

    Why are you working with a listbox? What is it that you want to present for the user?

    -- tom

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default RE: Drop Down List Box and Entry Mode

    Hi Tom,

    I'm using the list box to show a list of case status. Could just as well use a lookup and that should solve the problem.

    kenn

Similar Threads

  1. browse mode- delete drop down list items
    By Larry Ternowski in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-10-2005, 03:43 PM
  2. Drop Down List ??
    By mgorom in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-13-2004, 07:35 AM
  3. Drop Down List Object vs Field Rule Drop Down
    By forskare in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-08-2003, 05:33 PM
  4. drop-down list box
    By Michaela Koblitzek in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-14-2003, 07:23 AM
  5. Entry or Update Mode--> variable
    By Steven Spencer in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 01-07-2003, 07:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •