New call-to-action
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Trace Window

  1. #1
    Rachel Hardy
    Guest

    Default Trace Window

    Hi

    We currently use Alpha Five V4.5.

    I have been getting an message saying we have 65 warnings and need to view the trace window for details.

    There are 65 logs all saying that the field object references a non existent field. All of the logs are for fields that have been deleted from the tables structure.

    I have packed and re-indexed all of the tables but we are still getting this message.

    Can any one help?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ohlen Cartmell
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,599

    Default RE: Trace Window

    The deleted fields are referenced somewhere else in Alpha, most likely a form or browse. I doubt it's calling them in a script since the script would hang if it couldn't find an object.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Daniel Weiss
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Monsey, NY
    Posts
    506

    Default RE: Trace Window

    When are you getting the message, when you open a form, report, or table?
    Daniel

  4. #4
    Rachel Hardy
    Guest

    Default RE: Trace Window

    Hi Daniel

    It is happening when I try to open a form.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Lowell Wardlow
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    185

    Default RE: Trace Window

    Rachel - have you tried opening the form for edit, then saving it ? This will (sometimes) get rid of this type error, where at one time the form contains a reference that no longer exists.

    Lowell

  6. #6
    Rachel Hardy
    Guest

    Default RE: Trace Window

    Lowell

    I have tried this and it still hasn't cleared. Any other suggestions?

    Thanks

    Rachel

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,322

    Default RE: Trace Window

    Rachel, perhaps your form layout still contains objects which refer to the fields that have now been deleted from your table? You might want to open the form in design mode. When you do that you will probably see the error messages again. Then carefully look the form over, checking each object one by one. Examine it's properties. If it refers to a non-existent field you will need to change the reference to another field, or you should delete the object from your form.

    In Alpha Five when you drop a field object on your form it is automatically bound to the corresponding field in your table. When you delete a field from the structure of your table, the corresponding field object remains on your form, but can't function... because the field to which it is bound now no longer exists. In this situation you get the error messages you are seeing.

    -- tom

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ohlen Cartmell
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,599

    Default RE: Trace Window

    I had this occur once and could not get rid of the errors regardless of what I did. I think I copied the form to another name and then back to the original name to get rid of it. If that doesn't work and you've compacted to no avail, it may be necessary to recreate the form.

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default RE: Trace Window

    Rachel,

    Tom, as usual, is "right on". This has happened to me many times after removing a field from a table and not deleting the field object from the form. I'm taking this from memory, but either in view or design mode, you will see the field (that you see listed in the Trace window) with the word "error" or the like.

    Review your form and no doubt you will find this to be the case.

    kenn

  10. #10
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,173

    Default RE: Trace Window

    Rachel,

    Another related problem with unwanted field objects occured for me when I added a conditional object and dragged a number of existing objects onto the conditional. They were duplicated and I had two copies of the objects with only one visible! Now that was interesting. This has happened more than once. In one case I had to completely recreate the form.

    Jerry

Similar Threads

  1. trace window
    By Alan Lee in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-03-2004, 09:36 PM
  2. Trace Window
    By Bernard Posner in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-03-2002, 07:40 PM
  3. Need help with Trace window
    By glenschild in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-09-2002, 07:42 AM
  4. Trace window
    By Richard Froncek in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-10-2001, 06:32 AM
  5. Trace window
    By Richard Froncek in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-10-2001, 02:10 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •