New call-to-action
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Too many icons

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Duane Pederson
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Medicine Hat, AB
    Posts
    363

    Default Too many icons

    Afternoon

    A couple questions today

    First, I have an runtime app that I have installed using Setup Specialist 98 on 7 different computers for testing. OS's are 95 and 98SE. On one 95 and 2 - 98 SE computers about 8 or 9 icons keep loading up on the desktop. A_gloss.dbf, A_case.dbf, A_gloss.???(not sure of extension at this time) etc. These can be deleted but show up again next time A5 is ran. Can someone tell me how to keep this from happening? Will this be A5 or Setup Specialist?

    Second, on one of the 98SE A5 programs the tabs on the tabbed form are so small you can't really tell what they are. The rest of the form(s) are fine, just the tabs. Only one tabbed form in this app, and 5 other regular forms These tabs have been set to a fixed size and are OK on all other computers. This is one of the computers that has all the extra icons. What's up with this?

    Thanks for the help
    Duane

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,321

    Default RE: Too many icons

    Duane, this is a pathing issue. Either your 'Directories' setting in Alpha Five is wrong, or your shortcut to the database is not 'starting in' the right place.

    Search messages for 'icons desktop' (omit the quotes). You'll see that it comes up now and again.

    -- tom

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Duane Pederson
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Medicine Hat, AB
    Posts
    363

    Default RE: Too many icons

    Tom

    Thanks for replying. I will search that out.

    Any idea on the tab size being too small?

    Duane

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic glenschild's Avatar
    Real Name
    Glen Schild
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Frome, Somerset, UK
    Posts
    1,536

    Default RE: Too many icons

    Duane

    The reason the tabs appear smaller on some machines is down to the windows settings on the individual machines. If you created the app on a machine with default settings in inches and then install on a machine with default settings in metric that will almost certainly be the cause of the problem.

    Regards

    Glen Schild

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    William Hanigsberg
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    4,018

    Default RE: Too many icons

    Any idea on the tab size being too small?

    This has to do with the settings for units of measure (e.g. inches vs millimeters) and how they relate to your windows standards. Under view/settings change the setting. I have no trouble with "always use US settings" even though the machines at the College are probably set up in a diversity of ways. The A5 applications always display correctly if I force the runtime to use US units.

    Bill

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Duane Pederson
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Medicine Hat, AB
    Posts
    363

    Default RE: Too many icons

    Glen

    Thanks, that was the problem - set to metric

    Phoned up and had the girl check, she changed to US and all is fine now.



    Duane

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Duane Pederson
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Medicine Hat, AB
    Posts
    363

    Default RE: Too many icons

    Thanks Bill

    I caught Glen's message first

    I don't know how many times I have read on this board about those metric/US settings (lots) and you would have thought I should have caught on by now , but nooooo!

    Duane

Similar Threads

  1. Icons
    By BRIAN GRAY in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-30-2005, 10:36 AM
  2. Icons
    By Rob Penney in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-27-2004, 03:43 PM
  3. Where are the A5 Icons?
    By Peter.Greulich in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-21-2003, 06:08 AM
  4. All icons greyed out
    By fairviewcomputing in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-02-2002, 10:31 AM
  5. Using Alpha5 icons
    By Becky McNichols in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-27-2000, 01:39 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •