Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Remote access ot Alpha5.

  1. #1
    Member Gil Smith's Avatar
    Real Name
    Gil Smith
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Billingham, England
    Posts
    213

    Default Remote access ot Alpha5.

    I have Alpha 5 version 4.03 networked on three computers. I am wondering if it is possible to access Alpha and input data from a remote computer using a modem?

  2. #2
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,957

    Default RE: Remote access ot Alpha5.

    For support purposes I use PCAnywhere. That would be okay for yourself, if there were noone else on the network at the time. But if it were for regular use you would have to have something more sophisticated, like Citrix.

  3. #3
    Member Gil Smith's Avatar
    Real Name
    Gil Smith
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Billingham, England
    Posts
    213

    Default RE: Remote access ot Alpha5.

    Thanks Martin I will try PC Anywhere- I have heard of that. By the way what is Citrix?

  4. #4
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,957

    Default RE: Remote access ot Alpha5.

    from what I know of it, Citrix is an intermediate type of program that lets you put your app on a server and have users access it via the web

  5. #5
    Nigel Waters
    Guest

    Default RE: Remote access ot Alpha5.

    I have had some success using Dail up networking to my NT server. This was setup as a mapped drive from my remote PC.
    The application was then optimized to the Server. Worked fine for me, a little slow but it worked

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Tom Lyon
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    610

    Default RE: Remote access ot Alpha5.

    If you use Windows2000 Server, you can run terminal services and allow connections over the internet (with appropriate security authorization) to the machine. The terminal services client can then be used on Windows98 and Windows2000 machines to provide access to the server running terminal services. The quality of the connection blows away anything else...PCAnywhere doesn't come close to performing as well as Terminal Services Client.

    Tom Lyon

  7. #7
    Anthony Tampone
    Guest

    Default RE: Remote access ot Alpha5.

    Citrix is a company, they have a product called MetaFrame that will allow you to run programs as a terminal through a browser with special plugins. See www.citrix.com

    Also there is a new player in this field, Novell with their on demand services. This is an incredible new product and I have yet to see something with comparable speed. Unlike other solutions, no client side software is needed, just a browser. This is defiantly worth checking out, I have just started using it, if gives you the chance to be an asp. See www.novell.com/products/ondemand/

    Also you could use NT/2000 Terminal services, works well, in an all NT shop, but does have some stability problems, I have yet to use terminal services in Win2K, but I do hear that it is much improved.

    - Anthony

Similar Threads

  1. Remote Access Software
    By davej in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 12-18-2013, 01:24 AM
  2. Remote access of Alpha5
    By John Kemp in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-28-2005, 01:12 PM
  3. Remote Alpha access
    By Jay Talbott in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-26-2002, 06:34 PM
  4. Remote wireless access
    By Steven Devaney in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-02-2002, 08:27 AM
  5. Remote access
    By tlyon in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-26-2001, 03:15 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •