Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Export - lost records from DB - help

  1. #1
    Roland Hughes
    Guest

    Default Export - lost records from DB - help

    I needed to export a portion of our DB - so thru the Control Panel / Operations / Export - I selected certain fields, specified Filter criteria for record selection and finished fine. The exported file was in the notepad just as I desired, but latter when I reentered Alpha Five V4.5 - I found my DB only containes the exported records, I seem to of lost 80% of the records from the DB. Does anyone know how this happened? Better yet - Does anyone know if/how my original DB of all records can be obtained?

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    James A. Talbott, Jr.
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    1,471

    Default RE: Export - lost records from DB - help

    Roland,

    It sounds as if you exported the records right on top of your original database. This may or may not be true.

    The first thing I would do is search for all dbf files (using *.dfb) in Start| Find|Files and Folders.

    You may find that you have two tables (DBF files) in different folders with the same names. If this is so, pull the correct one into the database. If you only find one DBF files, then you will have to restore from your most recent backup (which I am sure you do regularly ).

    Regards,

    Jay Talbott

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Allen Klimeck
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    539

    Default RE: Export - lost records from DB - help

    It could be that the filter you built in the export is still being used. Try changing to record number order.

  4. #4
    Roland Hughes
    Guest

    Default RE: Export - lost records from DB - help

    After restoring the problem is still there - must be the filter, but how do I fix it?

  5. #5
    Roland Hughes
    Guest

    Default RE: Export - lost records from DB - help

    After restoring the problem is still there - must be the filter, but how do I fix it?

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,311

    Default RE: Export - lost records from DB - help

    Easiest way is to open the default form for the table, then click the Show All icon on the toolbar.

  7. #7
    VAR csda1's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ira J Perlow
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    3,530

    Default RE: Export - lost records from DB - help

    Roland,

    Remove the filter by changing the active index (Ctrl-I) or pressing the "Show All" button on the menu bar.

    Regards,

    Ira J. Perlow
    Computer Systems Design & Associates
    csda@mediaone.net

  8. #8
    Roland Hughes
    Guest

    Default RE: Export - lost records from DB - help

    Thanks - all is well now.

Similar Threads

  1. lost records
    By Marie Eastman in forum Alpha Five Versions 2 and 3
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-19-2004, 01:12 PM
  2. Lost periods on export
    By A. R. Sale in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-20-2002, 06:22 PM
  3. Why do records get lost or changed?
    By Brett Heintzman in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-14-2001, 04:45 AM
  4. Lost Records Sometimes
    By Bruce MacPherson in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-29-2001, 05:23 PM
  5. Lost Records
    By Ron McCormack in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-17-2000, 04:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •