Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Error: Invalid Summary Field type

  1. #1
    Mike Becker
    Guest

    Default Error: Invalid Summary Field type

    In the following example the field titled "TEST" is a calculated field.

    total(Case(Evaluator_Id = "(PG) 1",TEST))


    It appears that when creating a report, A5 can use the "Total" function on a calculated field if the field is calculated in the table using field rules. However, if the field to be totaled is a calculated field in the report, the report won't run because of an "Invalid Summary Field type" error message.

    In the report I want to create, there will be 96 separate calculations needed. I would prefer not to calculate each field at the table level in order to keep data entry running smoothly.

    Does anyone have suggestions on a work around for this problem. If not, Is it a bad idea to have 96 calculated fields in a table? (as far as maintenance and stability?)

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,312

    Default RE: Error: Invalid Summary Field type

    Mike, does Evaluator_Id have a single value for the entire report, or does it change from record to record? I'm not sure what you're after, but I don't think this is the way to get a total of TEST for all records where Evaluator_Id contains "(PG 1)". In other words, there may be something else going on which is triggering the error message you see.

    -- tom

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default RE: Error: Invalid Summary Field type

    Mike,

    I have to agree with Tom. I don't think that the total function in a report supports the syntax you have posted.

    total(n subexpr[,g over[,g each])

    I believe this is intended to do totals for groups of records. Therefore you must have a group defined. You are probably getting the error because your expression does not match the valid format for the function.

    You may be able to get the desired results by defining a calculated field for the report, say "pg1tot", defined like your example --- if(Evaluator_Id = "(PG) 1",TEST,0)
    then drag this calculated field into the report footer and let Alpha generate a total. Should look like "total(pg1tot,GRP->GRAND).
    Then that total field can be placed anywhere you would like to see it in the report.

    Good luck.

    Stan

Similar Threads

  1. Help to learn xdialog, "Invalid data-type
    By Graham Wickens in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-19-2005, 06:11 AM
  2. invalid summary field type
    By Robert Davis in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-30-2004, 06:36 AM
  3. Invalid Field Handle Error
    By Lisa Fiorese in forum Alpha Five Versions 2 and 3
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-24-2004, 04:40 AM
  4. 'field isn't memo type' report error message..??
    By Jim Chapman in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-27-2003, 01:14 PM
  5. Invalid Variable Type Help
    By forskare in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-02-2001, 07:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •