Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Speed tip

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Michael Humby
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    1,036

    Default Speed tip

    Here is a speed tip that you may or may not be aware of and you may or may not find useful.

    I have form loaded with calculations (156 to be precise). These calculations arrive at about thirty total calculations displayed on the form depending on which query is being run by a choice of buttons. The form was taking up to 2 minutes to load and view, and I happily accepted this as the norm because of the heavy work load of calcs.

    However, I found that if I set a filter in the form properties to limit the form load to 1 record, the form opens almost instantly. So I have now set a variable on the button that opens the form that gives me a field to filter on and that I know will always be present and unique to one record. I then used this variable in the form's filter properties. On the form's onit event I run a lightning query script that shows all desired records and the form view is now almost instantaneous.

    Hope this helps

    Michael

  2. #2
    Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,641

    Default RE: Speed tip

    Another approach is instead of using calc fields, put the calc formulas in xbasic on a button - no load overhead.

  3. #3
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,949

    Default RE: Speed tip

    what does your filter look like??

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Michael Humby
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    1,036

    Default RE: Speed tip

    Peter,

    I don't fancy placing 156 calculations in a script.

    Martin,

    I have used 'name=var->this_name' as a filter. The variable is set on the button of the calling form and sets first name+last name expression. It can be anything provided it limits the filter to one record.

    Michael

  5. #5
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,949

    Default RE: Speed tip

    thanks

  6. #6
    Terry Morgan
    Guest

    Default RE: Speed tip

    Have you tried setting the calculations at table or set level I.E. as global calculations. I am not sure if this will help but it may be worth a try and it is a practise I use consistently.
    Let us know how you get on.
    Terry

  7. #7
    Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,641

    Default RE: Speed tip

    I don't know about that. I used to have a bunch of calculated fields on the set level doing totals, and opening the form and other actions took forever. I finally moved the time-consuming, resource-exhausting calcs to a button and all was well.

Similar Threads

  1. Speed
    By Bill@TrackerSystems.com in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-30-2004, 07:06 AM
  2. A5 speed in XP
    By CALocklin in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 02-18-2004, 05:29 AM
  3. Speed
    By Tony Watts in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-27-2003, 09:15 AM
  4. Speed
    By Thomas Henkel in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-18-2003, 04:44 AM
  5. Speed across a LAN ...
    By drgarytraub in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-02-2003, 09:51 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •