Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Alpha 5 license count exceeded - but it isn't ...

  1. #1
    Volunteer Moderator drgarytraub's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dr. Gary Traub
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Boca Raton, FL
    Posts
    2,783

    Default Alpha 5 license count exceeded - but it isn't ...

    I ran into a problem today that I have not encountered since my first few months of using Alpha 5. Let me explain:

    In further refining my application and adding more functions, the program changed so much as well as the directory structure, that I deleted the entire A5 directory from the office computer, and copied the entire A5 directory from my laptop to the office computer via the network. The office computer works fine. My laptop still works fine. However, when my secretary is using the office computer, I cannot access the office computer's data from my laptop. I get the following error message: "Alpha Five license count exceeded. This Database is already in use by one or more other Alpha 5 users on the network."

    Ya know ... while typing this, I think I realize the cause of this problem. My laptop has a one seat license of Alpha 5. When I copied that from the laptop, the office computer also has a one seat license. Thus, either will work fine on the data, but they cannot both access the same data at the same time. I do have the the unlimited runtime, so I bet the solution is to install the runtime on the office computer (because I do all my development work on the laptop), and keep the full version on my laptop. This should allow unlimted users to access the data from the office computer.

    Is this correct???

    Gary Traub

    p.s. I must have had the runtime on the office computer all along, and forgot that.


  2. #2
    Vince McGinnis
    Guest

    Default RE: Alpha 5 license count exceeded - but it isn't

    I always try the simpliest things first: try closing A5, open Windows explorer, and delete all .MUF files. Then restart A5.

  3. #3
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,644

    Default RE: Alpha 5 license count exceeded - but it isn't

    Gary, you are correct.

Similar Threads

  1. license count exceeded
    By Ken Stiller in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-20-2004, 11:22 AM
  2. License Count Exceeded - NOT
    By Gary Phillips in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-19-2004, 04:38 AM
  3. License Count Exceeded
    By Bob Tomas in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-02-2004, 05:54 PM
  4. PLS. DISABLE THE LICENSE COUNT EXCEEDED IN BETA5
    By nehru albania in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-01-2002, 07:24 AM
  5. LICENSE COUNT EXCEEDED
    By nehru albania in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-24-2002, 07:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •