Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Group Page Numbering

  1. #1
    Rose Smith
    Guest

    Default Group Page Numbering

    I am new to Alpa5 so please bear with me. I have a simple mailing list with 3 columns. It has one group break. I would like to have the page number start over at the group break. Thanks!

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    William Hanigsberg
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    4,018

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    Rose,

    I take it you created your group break in the report editor.

    Edit the report; go to group properties and on one of the tabs you will see a checkbox for "start each group on a new page".

    Bill

  3. #3
    Rose Smith
    Guest

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    Bill,
    Thanks for your reply. I do have that tab checked. I added a group page footer. However; when I insert pageno(), the numbering does not start over at the group break.

    Rose

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    William Hanigsberg
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    4,018

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    Rose,

    I apologize for misreading your question.

    I don't think there is a built in facility to do this but one might be able to create one using calculated fields. I'll play with it and get back to you unless someone beats me to it.

    Bill

  5. #5
    ROBERT SULLIVAN
    Guest

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    Have you triedplacing the pageno() on the group footer. I am not sure but I think that it will reset at the next group if it is in the group footer

    Bob Sullivan

  6. #6
    Rose Smith
    Guest

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    Bob...thanks for replying. Yes I placed pageno()inside the group footer. Page numbering does not reset when the group changes.
    Under the group properties for the GROUP tab, I selected order on break. Under the Head/Foot Tab I have Has Group Header, Has Continuation Header,and Has Group Footer Selected.

    Rose

    I really appreciate the input. I have searched the message board numerous times for other problems. I have found more answers here than the manuals or "Learning Alpha Five"

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Tom Lyon
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    610

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    Hi Rose,

    I believe that, assuming your group break name is "Foo",
    if you place this expression in the group footer,

    pageno("Foo")

    Your page numbers will print as you desire.

    Straight from the A5 User Manual:
    "If your report has grouping levels, the PAGENO() function can be used to count pages of a particular group. For example, suppose you have a report which groups customers by state, and the records of customers from a particular state may span several pages. You can make the report easier to read by inserting both the physical page number and the page number of the group.
    The page number for a group resets when the group breaks. The expression for counting pages in a group is:
    PAGENO(“GROUPNAME”)
    Where GROUPNAME is the name of the group whose pages you want to count."

    Tom Lyon

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    And what the devil are you doing reading the manual? This is supposed to be a help board based on experience and guesses.






    Thanks Tom, I never thought to examine the function definition.

  9. #9
    Oran Hamilton
    Guest

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    Tom,

    Are you trying to make us believers in "if all else fails, read the manual?" :-)

    Thans for the tip. I am working on a project now that is going to require thsi type of page numbering but I had not reached that stage yet.

    Oran

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Tom Lyon
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    610

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    I must apologize for a momentary lapse of reasoning in mentioning the "M" word. I think it is from a new drug combination my doctor just prescribed for me, Prozac and Ex-Lax. Good stuff. I sit on my butt all day now and really feel good about it.

    Now, about that database problem...

    Tom Lyon

  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    William Hanigsberg
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    4,018

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    Hi all,

    I also thank Tom for calling attention to the you know what. But I must ask, has anyone been able to make the page numbering work for a group. I tried to apply it to a grouping level and it returned the report page number rather than the page within the group.

    The print version of the manual contains the ominous annotation [test this] right next to the grouping pg number passage.

    I really hope it works and the problem lies with me because I had developed a work around so complicated that I don't even want to think about it, much less describe it here.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  12. #12
    Rose Smith
    Guest

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    Thanks guys but pageno("foo") did not work. I finally got it to work by using the following:

    pageno(GRP->Foo)

  13. #13
    Member
    Real Name
    Tom Lyon
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    610

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    Well, darn, I knew that. I'm sorry I left that out, but so did Alpha :)

    Tom Lyon

  14. #14
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    William Hanigsberg
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    4,018

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    Tom,

    The syntax that Rose found to work is in the Xbasic manual under the PAGENO function rather than the reports documentation which you quoted.

    I had the same experience as she did and I did get it to work although how it works depends on which section of the report you put it in.

    I found it to behave most reliably when I placed it in the goup header and the group continuation header. In the group footer, it was incorrect on the last page of the group--didn't advance.

    So my experience is that it is useful but not trouble free.

    Bill

  15. #15
    Oran Hamilton
    Guest

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    Bill,

    Wild guess - You did not get a changed page number because the page was completely full so it did not trigger the page nunbering event when you had it in the group footer.

    Oran

  16. #16
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    William Hanigsberg
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    4,018

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    Oran,

    I don't have the slightest idea why but this is what happens.

    Suppose I have a group which spread out over 3 pages and begins on pg 10 of the report. When the group page number is in the group footer:

    On report pg 10 the group pg is 1.
    On report pg 11 the group pg is 2.
    On report pg 12 the group pg is 2.

    As you see it works except for the last page of the group.

    On the other hand, it works correctly if I put the group pg number in the group header *and* group continuation header. The latter is necessary since the group header only appears on the first page of the group and the continuation header appears on all subsequent pages.

    As I say, I do know what, but I'm clueless as to why.

    Bill

  17. #17
    Rose Smith
    Guest

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    The same happened to me. I have a group w/ 3 pages. It only printed the page number on page 3. I resigned to using a continuation header also.

    Thanks,
    Rose

  18. #18
    Member
    Real Name
    Tom Lyon
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    610

    Default RE: Group Page Numbering

    I'm doing this exact thing on a report and it works just fine for me, printing on all pages of the reports as desired.

    Code:
    Here is the setup I am using:
    
    In the continuation footer for Detail - 
        Object name: Pgnorepeat
        Calc->PageNo (expression: PAGENO(GRP->GRPNAME))
    
    In the Group "GRPNAME" Footer -
        Object name: Pgnobreak
        Calc->PageNo (expression: PAGENO(GRP->GRPNAME))
    I know that object name is immaterial, but I wanted to point out as many details as I could in hopes of helping out.

    Tom Lyon

Similar Threads

  1. Page Numbering Problem In Reports
    By kgilroy in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-08-2004, 04:19 AM
  2. Page Numbering In Reports
    By kgilroy in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-06-2004, 09:58 AM
  3. Page Numbering on Group Break
    By Gary Hill in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-22-2003, 05:10 PM
  4. Report Page Numbering using System->PageXofY
    By ChuckR in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-16-2003, 08:24 PM
  5. Page numbering for groups on reports
    By Nathan White in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-04-2000, 05:21 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •