Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Lost adb file on the network

  1. #1
    Member Alan Lucas's Avatar
    Real Name
    Alan Lucas
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    686

    Default Lost adb file on the network

    Server windows 2000
    Work station 1 xp home desktop
    Work station2 windows Me laptop

    1. Application on the server with runtime on the work stations.

    2. Work station 1 access the server open the .adb file and run network optimization, all works fine.

    3. Work station 2 access the server and cannot find the .adb file to open the application, all other files are there.

    Searched the forum but unable to find any help. (must be framing the search question wrong!)

    How can the .adb file be seen on work station 1 and not on work station 2?

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Alan

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default RE: Lost adb file on the network

    Not that familiar with "Server windows 2000".

    Can you navigate to the .adb directory in explorer? Permissions issue?

  3. #3
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,644

    Default RE: Lost adb file on the network

    Alan

    Anything's possible with ME.

    Like Stan's question, what can you see in the directory from ws 2?

    Are you using a shortcut to get to the database from each machine?

    If so, make sure to make the shortcut on the system that is using the shortcut. Otherwise you'll get mixed results.
    This may not be an issue until you get based finding the .adb

    Are you using a shared directory from the file server?

  4. #4
    Member Alan Lucas's Avatar
    Real Name
    Alan Lucas
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    686

    Default RE: Lost adb file on the network

    Stan & Al,

    Thanks for quick reply.

    1. Accessing the server from ws 2, in explorer on the server can see all the application files except the adb.

    2. WS 1 can access the server from the desktop shortcut.

    3. WS 2 cannot use the shortcut on the desktop because unable to network optimize.

    4. Nothing unusual on the server, no other a5 products only the app., same with the laptop.

    5. Checked all the permissions and security of the app folder all ok.

    6. Checked on the server via explorer the app files and the adb is there!

    Me thinks it must be a Me issue.

    On another note I will have to miss the Alpha conference this year as I will be in Scotland on a golfing tour.

    Regards

    Alan

  5. #5
    Member Alan Lucas's Avatar
    Real Name
    Alan Lucas
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    686

    Default RE: Lost adb file on the network

    Ah Ah!

    Compacted the db via ws 1 now when I look at the app from ws 2 I can see the adb file except when I click on it the system displays the open with screen prompting the user to select a program.

    Just to see what would happen I selected "other" option and navigated to the adb on the server clicked ok and received the message:

    Product.adb is not a valid Win32 application.

    via ws 1 it is, via ws 2 it isn't.

    Alan

  6. #6
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,644

    Default RE: Lost adb file on the network

    Alan

    That's OK. Just leave a credit card.... ;-)

  7. #7
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,644

    Default RE: Lost adb file on the network

    Alan

    I try to never open a database from clicking the .adb file.

    Open the Alpha program and then use Alpha to open the .adb

    Then use Alpha to generate a shortcut for that machine.

  8. #8
    Member Alan Lucas's Avatar
    Real Name
    Alan Lucas
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    686

    Default RE: Lost adb file on the network

    Al,

    When attempting a network optimize from a work station don't you need to navigate from the work station to the server and open explorer on the server, select the .adb (i.e. the alpha icon ) to open the app and then from tools run the network optimize to create the shadow on the work station?

    This is what i've done on all my other network setup's and works fine, it is the Me laptop that is giving me the hebeegebees! Do you want to buy a used Me laptop?

    Regards

    Alan

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,311

    Default RE: Lost adb file on the network

    Pardon me for jumping me, but I'd never do it the way you describe.

    Start the runtime engine on the local workstation from Windows' start programs menu. Do not load a database and open the runtime together by using a database shortcut.

    At this point the runtime engine is running but no database is loaded. You'll see an ugly grey screen with nothing but a menu. So, from that menu choose

    file, then
    open database, then
    browse over the network to the server, then
    select the database to open, then
    go to the control panel, then
    select file, then
    select network optimize.

    -- tom

  10. #10
    Member Alan Lucas's Avatar
    Real Name
    Alan Lucas
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    686

    Default RE: Lost adb file on the network

    Hi Tom,

    There is always another way!. Will check at the office tomorrow and let you know the results.

    By the way, you jumping in was very quiet, you must have been wearing bunny slippers :-)

    Best regards

    Alan

    P.S. time to visit my restaurant, I owe you a dinner from last year.

  11. #11
    Member Alan Lucas's Avatar
    Real Name
    Alan Lucas
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    686

    Default RE: Lost adb file on the network

    Morning Tom,

    Followed your instructions and it worked, I now have a new way of network optimizing.

    Point of clarification for others, Tom's penultimate line should read: "select tools then"

    Thanks again Tom, hope to see you soon.

    Alan

Similar Threads

  1. Cannot access file - Lost indexes
    By Dave Swinton in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-05-2004, 04:06 AM
  2. Lost file
    By A. Lynn Richwine in forum Alpha Five Version 1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-05-2001, 04:53 AM
  3. Lost *MUF file
    By Lloyd Fleming in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-17-2001, 04:25 PM
  4. Lost mailing label definitions file
    By Adrienne Boswell in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-23-2001, 03:55 AM
  5. Slow Network File Saves
    By Wally Babbitt in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-25-2000, 07:14 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •