Alpha Video Training

Thread: disappearing data

david h

Default disappearing data

Hi,
    I am new to Alpha 5. I have been using Symantec Q&A for DOS for years and decided to try ALpha 5. So far so good... however, I have two main problems.

1.)In my database, I have several tab screens. When i type data in the fields on the second tab, the data will dissapear as if i never typed the information there. When i go to browse view, the data is not there. Any ideas?

2.) When I am inserting fields from the database into an A5 letter (using the drag and drop)... the information is not being printed in either the preview or the hard copy.

I am working with a Dell P4 with 1GB of Ram (I know over kill) and windows XP professional. My printer is an HP LJ 1300 series.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz

Default RE: disappearing data

David

Welcome to the Alpha family!

I usually find it easier and quicker to diagnose soemthing if there is a concrete example.

If you could zip the database and attach it to a message with come instructions, you'll get a world of answers and tips.

See the attached image about zipping a database and then click on the attach file when you make a message.

david h

Thank you. Test data is included. Since I am used to working with a flat file system, this database is pretty much flat file as well (go ahead laugh at my attempt to have a decent relationship database). Any help (comments, suggestions, criticisms, etc) would be helpful. Thanks

Dave

Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz

David

No laughing allowed, except at ourselves. ;-)

Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz

david h wrote:
    -------------------------------
    Hi,
    I am new to Alpha 5. I have been using Symantec Q&A for DOS for years and decided to try ALpha 5. So far so good... however, I have two main problems.