Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: search returning incorrect results

  1. #1
    VAR
    Real Name
    Cheryl Lemire
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    Posts
    2,914

    Default search returning incorrect results

    OK, I am sure this is another blonde moment, but I prefer to be blonde than bald ...

    I have created a search by company that works great. It returns only values in the company field of my table. I have taken this same code and changed the company field information to my last_name field for a last name search.

    What I get in my list box is the first name and last name but the search is by first name. Below is the code I am using and nowhere do I even mention the first name. Where is Alpha pulling that from?

    I should be getting: Johnson instead I get John LastName

    I have created both the company and last name searches via a button on a form. I have used the OnPush event for each button with xbasic. Below is the code used for my last_name search.

    Why am I getting the first name + last name? What am I missing here?

    Thanks
    Cheryl




    'Date Created: 03-Aug-2004 06:30:48 PM
    'Last Updated: 03-Aug-2004 06:37:14 PM
    'Created By :
    'Updated By :
    'Print invoices based on last name
    filter = " (Last_Name = [varC-"prms.Parameter1] )"
    get_parameters_string = ""%string%
    Parameter1|Last_Name|Character|Record List-Combo Box||"table_name="t_inv""\cr\lf"field_name="Last_Name""\cr\lf"filter="""\cr\lf
    %string%
    ok_label = "&OK"
    cancel_label = "&Cancel"
    dialog_title = "Parameters"

    'Prompt for parameter values. Store results in a 'dot' variable called 'prms'
    dim prms as p
    prms = ui_get_parameters(dialog_title,get_parameters_string,ok_label,cancel_label)

    if prms.last_button_pressed = "OK" then
    'Replace parameters in the filter with actual values
    query.filter = replace_parameters(filter,local_variables())

    query.order = ""
    else
    end
    end if



    'Prompt user whether to print, or preview the layout. Set default to Preview
    prompt_result = ui_get_print_or_preview("Preview")
    If prompt_result = "Print" then

    :Report.Print("r_invoice",query.filter,query.order)

    Else if prompt_result = "Preview" then
    :Report.Preview("r_invoice",query.filter,query.order)
    End if

  2. #2
    VAR
    Real Name
    Cheryl Lemire
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    Posts
    2,914

    Default RE: search returning incorrect results

    OK, I have made a copy of the t_inv table to t_inv_copy and deleted most of the records so that I could zip up the database and upload it here (the orig was well over 1MB zipped)

    I have checked all field rules, operations, code, reports, forms, tables, etc, etc, etc ... and I am unable to determine why I am getting first name + last name in my search of invoices by last name.

    The form ... print_reports_copy I have 4 buttons. They all basically do the same thing, prompt the user for input and then preview the invoice report based on that filter.

    The company, invoice number, and customer ID searches all work correctly. The last name search is not giving me my prompt based on the last name.

    There is nowhere in this database that I can find that tells Alpha to search based on first name + last name. Can anybody please help????

    Thanks

  3. #3
    VAR
    Real Name
    Cheryl Lemire
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    Posts
    2,914

    Default RE: search returning incorrect results

    OK, I have this working now ... however, I have NO CLUE as to why this is a problem.

    I remembered when I created the first search form (currently on design 3, LOL) that the last name search worked correctly ... so I went to that backup and looked at the search in that button. That search was using the t_cust table and not the t_inv table.

    So I changed the table in this form to t_cust and the last name search is working as it should now. Can somebody please explain to me why it works using the cust table and not the inv table? The last name in both tables, structure and field rules are exactly the same.

    There is one diff in the t_inv table, the last name field is auto populated based on the cust_id field using a lookup. I do NOT think this would have anything to do with it because the COMPANY field is also auto populated the same exact way in the t_inv table and that search works fine using t_inv and not t_cust.

    Does anybody have any rhyme or reason to this?

    Thanks
    Cheryl

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,311

    Default RE: search returning incorrect results

    Which table is the report based on? If it's not the same table you're running the query against, that could explain what you're seeing I suppose.

    -- tom

  5. #5
    VAR
    Real Name
    Cheryl Lemire
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    Posts
    2,914

    Default RE: search returning incorrect results

    Hi Tom,

    The report is based on the t_inv table only. I have not created any sets and the only form right now is this one.

    Cheryl

  6. #6
    VAR
    Real Name
    Cheryl Lemire
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    Posts
    2,914

    Default RE: search returning incorrect results

    OK, here I go again with egg on my face. First I have to give Tom a great big thanks for taking the time to look at my files and help determine why I was getting the results I was getting with my original search.

    It turns out that the search results were completely ACCURATE. This application began with two tables, customer and invoice, which were developed in AlphaFour V2. The client wanted to upgrade to AlphaFive V5 but he wanted it to look and feel exactly like what he had been using for 10+ years.

    I made an ASSUMPTION ... and yes ... it made an A** out of me, not you though hehehe ... What I did not realize at the time was that the client's original design did NOT allow him to add records to the customer table during invoice data entry. Therefore if a customer did not already exist he would just manually enter the information in the invoice table. As a result ... there are a multitude of records in the invoice table that have last_name/first_name information that cannot be found in the customer table.

    When the client entered records into the customer table, he used the fields as they were designed. When he entered information into the invoice table, he did not. He entered first and last names in the last name field leaving the first name field blank. The field names are no indication of the content of the records in that field.

    My search results appeared to be taking data from the first name field and concatenating it with the data from the last name field ... sorting in first name order. This was simply an OPTICAL ILLUSION. The search results of J.Smith or Joan Adams are exactly the data as it was entered in the last_name field.

Similar Threads

  1. Printing just the results of a search
    By Andy Gill in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-21-2006, 10:18 AM
  2. Posting Search results to HTML Title?
    By seidel1 in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-07-2004, 07:28 AM
  3. Search on Key gives wrong results
    By Jim Gatton in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-15-2004, 06:33 AM
  4. Search result not returning complete records
    By Elsie Beall in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-10-2002, 11:56 AM
  5. Incorrect Query Results
    By Phil Rolf in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-24-2001, 09:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •