Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: null.dbf

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Dennis Mathias
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    231

    Default null.dbf

    I was trying to install the unlimited runtime on a computer Win2K machine and I get the error "null.dbf not found". This pops up as a dialog right after I agree to the license and set the path. So, A5URT is not installed. Anyone have an idea what's going on here?

  2. #2
    Dr Alok Modi MD
    Guest

    Default RE: null.dbf

    Hi
    Just a guess.
    Try installing the full version and then the runtime. Not just the runtime.

    Dr Alok Modi MD

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    William Hanigsberg
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    4,018

    Default RE: null.dbf

    The runtime does not require that the full version be present. If it did what would be the point of the runtime?

    Bill

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tom Henkel's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tom Henkel
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,873

    Default RE: null.dbf

    Did you set up a shortcut to open the application? The shortcut should point to the runtime executable, which, in turn, should have parameter input to tell it what to open.

    I will have an example tomorrow when I get back to the office.

    Tom

  5. #5
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,172

    Default RE: null.dbf

    Dennis

    From your message, it appears that you can't even install the runtime program. It that the problem? If the runtime initial install fails, that would indicate the install program is damaged. If it was a download, download it again. Sometimes downloaded programs get damaged during the download.

    Jerry

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Dennis Mathias
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    231

    Default RE: null.dbf

    Don't think so since it's coming directly off the Alpha RT disk unless there's something obscure going on there. I'm going to try something different later today and I'll report back but I am surprised that I'm the only one with the problem. I have installed this on other machines and it seemed okay so I'm a little stumped.

    I'm thinking I might have some rights issues on some of these Win2K machines so I'm going to look into that.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Dennis Mathias
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    231

    Default RE: null.dbf

    I don't have a runtime installed.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tom Henkel's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tom Henkel
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,873

    Default RE: null.dbf

    Dennis,

    In win2K, rights are definitely an issue. Your users need administrator or super-user rights. I have a Win2K machine, and since I am the only one who uses the machine, I am the administrator by default, so I've nver seen a problem.

    Tom

Similar Threads

  1. null
    By urbanski in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-11-2005, 09:23 AM
  2. new patch - null.ddx
    By dik_coleman in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-29-2004, 07:19 AM
  3. Null value
    By davidv43 in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-17-2004, 05:11 PM
  4. Null Query Test
    By Peter.Greulich in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-01-2001, 10:03 AM
  5. Averaging with some null or zero records
    By Dennis Eaton in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-25-2000, 12:10 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •