Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Ram Disk

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Richard A. Froncek
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    399

    Default Ram Disk

    Will A5v5 provide a ram disk capability? Sure speeds things up; at least it did when the whole application could be loaded there under DOS.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Russ Boehle
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    2,767

    Default RE: Ram Disk

    I'm not sure this is still an issue. Most of the computers today have lots of memory so unless you have a lot of programs loaded you probably won't swap to disk too much. On the otherhand there are ram hard drives (probably wrong term) where the whole database is loaded to ram --that can make a huge difference if you can afford it.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Richard A. Froncek
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    399

    Default RE: Ram Disk

    In A4, I'd load the whole nine yards in ram disk and it really flew.
    Dick

  4. #4
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,171

    Default RE: Ram Disk

    More RAM = More speed.

    This is particularly true with most newer Windows programs. Usually you need more RAM as features are added. The Windows versions of Alpha are slower than the DOS versions and the A5V5 beta is slower than V4.5. The speed difference with V5 is slight with 128 mb ram, but quite noticeable with 64mb.

    Just another excuse to upgrade!

    Jerry

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Richard A. Froncek
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    399

    Default RE: Ram Disk

    I have 1 GB of RAM. Hence, I'd like to use it.
    Dick

  6. #6
    john-erik paulsen
    Guest

    Default RE: Ram Disk

    http://www.superspeed.com/

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Richard A. Froncek
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    399

    Default RE: Ram Disk

    Looks good, Thanks.
    Dick

Similar Threads

  1. Disk # 3, Ver. 6.0 Runtime
    By Ken Fleming in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-19-2004, 07:54 PM
  2. Wanted A4 V2.1 Disk 3
    By Nigel Grant in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-28-2001, 06:49 PM
  3. help need 3rd disk
    By earl zielinski in forum Alpha Five Version 1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-02-2001, 09:56 AM
  4. Installation Disk
    By Richard Hightower in forum Alpha Five Versions 2 and 3
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-29-2000, 03:26 PM
  5. PROBLEMS WITH DISK
    By Hennie van Niekerk in forum Alpha Five Version 1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-25-2000, 04:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •