Alpha Video Training

Thread: Evaluating Alpha 5 on 30 day trial

Ron Baker

Default Evaluating Alpha 5 on 30 day trial

I'm evaluating Alpha 5 on the 30 day trial. I have used Access for the last year. Not a programmer, but use databases for many things. For most databases I develop I hire programmers to write code to complete the databases. If it turns out that I could use Alpha 5 and avoid the cost of hiring programmers then that would be a smart move.

Has anyone here traveled this road? If so, please let me know your experience.

Based on what I see now I will be asking lots of questions over the next few days. I hope that OK.

Ron

Dr Alok Modi MD

Default RE: Evaluating Alpha 5 on 30 day trial

Hi Ron
    You are in the right country.
    I am a doctor and I have no programming experience either, and alpha five suits the bill here. I have tried access and failed miserably and filemaker is limited. I have very good experience with alpha five in the last one month.The advantage with alpha five which everybody appreciates is that without any Xbasic experience you can design wonderful applications. Knowing Xbasic is cream on the cake and learning Xbasic is easier than visual basic. I am not fully conversant with XBasic yet and I am happily progressing.
    The other wonderful advantage with alpha five as you can see, is this wonderful forum where you can ask anything and get real good help from the alpha five community. I am quite happy to have bought alpha five. I would also suggest you look at Pace Training which is very helpful. Also do try Susan Bush's manuals and you will enjoy Dr Peter Wayne's tour in X basic, which is the place to start.

I hope you also have the honor of getting your queries solved by Mr Robert T , like me.

Dr Alok Modi MD

"Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin

Hi Ron,