Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Application

  1. #1
    James Peterson
    Guest

    Default Application

    In writing an application in A5V4 we want to eliminate the ability of users to access the regular Alpha Menu System. Can this be done without purchasing the runtime version?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ohlen Cartmell
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,599

    Default RE: Application

    You can hide the control panel with the method :controlpanel.hide() placed in a script called autoexec. Autoexec scripts are played whenever A5 is opened. But, before doing this create a way to get the control panel back with the method :controlpanel.show(). I place this on a hidden, password protected button on my opening form. You can also create custom menus and toolbars to replace the default ones. In short, you can control access to just about every part of your application and limit the users options. Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    James Peterson
    Guest

    Default RE: Application

    Thanks so much for the help! I can see what I will be doing this weekend.

Similar Threads

  1. Example of Web application
    By René Stout in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-30-2004, 12:52 PM
  2. Application Dev
    By Ray in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-17-2003, 02:20 AM
  3. Application
    By Adele Snider in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2003, 10:13 AM
  4. Help with Application
    By Jeff, Richards in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-26-2002, 04:18 PM
  5. help w/ an application
    By lmarini in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-16-2002, 06:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •