Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Report Yearly Total

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ed Barley
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,056

    Default Report Yearly Total

    Hello Everyone,

    I am trying to convert a monthly report from Excel into Alpha. In Excel it was one workbook, with 12 worksheets one for each month. I could use formulas to keep a running yearly total from month to month.

    Now in Alpha I have one report that works off its own table, and gives all the data that it should. About half of the information, that used to be in the Excel workbook.

    The second report, uses information from its own table, but needs the data for the year(for one field only) from table number one.

    Right now, I have made a set with table one and two. And the report that is based on the set, is filtered by year, and month.

    The problem is............How do keep a running yearly total from month to month in the report, when the report is set up to filter by year, and month??

    I know there has to be a way. Am I going about this the wrong way??? Trying to get rid of the spreadsheet hat, and use the database one.....

    Hopefully this is not too confusing. In a nut shell, how do you do include a yearly running total, when a report is filtered by the month within the year??

    Any Ideas are greatly appreciated.


    Thanks Ed



  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default RE: Report Yearly Total

    Ed,

    Without seeing how you get your monthly total on the report it is difficult to give a specific answer. Very simply it can be done but we need more info to work with.

    It seems that you should have a post rule in field rules to update that year_to_date field for each new transaction.

    Regards

    Keith Hubert

    Guild Member
    London.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default RE: Report Yearly Total

    Dbsum() and tablesum() can be used to grab a total from a table to include in a report.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ed Barley
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,056

    Default RE: Report Yearly Total

    Thanks Keith and Stan,

    I think Stan was reading my mind. It would just be a total, that is needed.

    Thanks Ed

Similar Threads

  1. Report - Total Function
    By Jonathan Short in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-16-2005, 01:47 PM
  2. Report Total() Not Working
    By Steve Andrews in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-27-2004, 09:52 AM
  3. Total Time in A Report
    By Ken Fleming in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-15-2003, 09:29 AM
  4. Total Time in A Report
    By Ken Fleming in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-13-2003, 01:02 PM
  5. Total Time in A Report
    By Ken Fleming in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-12-2003, 02:53 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •