Alpha Video Training

Thread: arrogant newbie suggestion/dream

Joseph Claeys

Default arrogant newbie suggestion/dream

Having recently had a suggestion acted upon I am emboldened!

I've been working with A5 for a few months but only "digging in" in the last few weeks. I see so many neat features and then I see so much "potential" beyond those features. Hearing about the WAS has me salivating (it's a supply CREATES demand example because I really had no interest in it until now).

Anyway, I was thinking (procrastinating) and thought "woudn't it be neat if...": The Alpha product was targeted at,not just access, but all of office and VB and frontpage etc. It would be the "Alpha Xdevelopment system". Complete with all the promised A6 stuff and web development (frontpage), a visual programming interface for non-database programs (VB), and other productivity programs that a developer could "package" and program (Word, Excel) for their clients (somewhat like the new VB tools for office only better - of course!). Just to be realistic I guess powerpoint could be left out ;-)

Ok back to work... Love A5 as it is btw... but will look forward to the next generation of AXD (alpha xdeveloper).

Oh and it should be reasonably priced! "chuckle"

Cheers,

~joe

Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati

Default RE: arrogant newbie suggestion/dream

Geez Joe, it sounds like Selwyn created a monster out of you :)

Seriously though, Alpha Five version 6 will include an HTML Editor. It does not have all of the site management capabiltites of FrontPage, but it is still quite useful.

Xdialog is already a programming interface that is not tied to a database. Currently you still need to be within Alpha Five to run your Xdialog, but the dialogs themselves do not need to have anything to do with data. In fact, I created an Xdialog version of a minesweeper game once just to practice some Xdialog techniques.