Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Winfax scripts not working in Win XP Pro

  1. #1
    Rick Valenzuela
    Guest

    Default Winfax scripts not working in Win XP Pro

    I have 2 systems that are running Windows XP Professional in which my winfax scripts do not work now. Those, these exact same scripts work perfectly on a computer running Windows 2000.

    I'm running winfax ver 10.02 on all computers.

    When running one of these scripts on the Win XP machines: the automatic receive turns off on the winfax icon, then a printer icon shows up, then the automatic receive turns back on, then the printer icon disappers. But nothing shows up in the winfax outbox to fax.

    Has anyone had any experience with this? I've even tried the winfax script examples found on this board, and the exact same thing happens.

    Thanks!

    Rick

  2. #2
    Rick Valenzuela
    Guest

    Default RE: Winfax scripts not working in Win XP Pro

    After searching the net, and then finally spending an hour on the phone waiting for symantec's support, I found out that DDE commands do NOT work with winfax 10.02 and win XP.

    So, now it's back to the drawing board. I would be very happy if faxing was built in to Alpha5.

    Anyone else have any other ideas of how to fax without using DDE commands and/or Winfax?

    Thanks,

    Rick

  3. #3
    Alpha Software Employee Selwyn Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Selwyn Rabins
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    5,306

    Default RE: Winfax scripts not working in Win XP Pro

    faxing is built into a5v6.

    in the mean time, you might want to use OLE automation instead of DDE.

    DDE is old technology and most companies no longer support it.

    if you search this message board you will find some sample xbasic scripts that can work with winfax use OLE automation.

    these scripts were provided "as is". they are not an official part of a5v5 and are not supported.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Russ Boehle
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    2,767

    Default RE: Winfax scripts not working in Win XP Pro

    Would this be network faxing or standalone? Will it support Multiple modems (without buying MS SBE)? Information on this would be great for planning purposes.

    Russ

Similar Threads

  1. Winfax ole help
    By russ Boehle in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-03-2010, 09:59 AM
  2. Winfax OLE
    By russ Boehle in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-02-2004, 09:15 AM
  3. problems between winfax and a5
    By Kevin Morken in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-2003, 02:15 AM
  4. Scripts
    By dik_coleman in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-25-2001, 03:55 PM
  5. WinFax 9.02 DDE
    By Jim Rowlen in forum Code Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-17-2000, 04:30 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •