Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Tabbed Object

  1. #1
    Kjell Solem
    Guest

    Default Tabbed Object

    I have notised the following:

    In Alpha Sport I select Producs(Inventory Information).

    From Tab2 (Details) I enter a new record (Ctrl+E).
    The form automatically switches to Tab1 (Product List) and the record P124 Water Pistol is selected.

    How can I prevent the tabbed object from switching tabs when entering a new record.

    1506/1058
    Kjell

  2. #2
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,171

    Default RE: Tabbed Object

    When you place the form in enter mode, it starts at the first field in the tab order. If you don't want to change the tab oder, you have to move the focus to an object where you want to start. You can do this in Action Scripting by selecting "Activate an Object" from the action list, or just add a command like

    topparent:objectname.activate()

    right after an action that puts the form in enter mode This is the same code generated by action scripting. If you are using the built in CTRL-E, then you could put that code on the OnEnter event for the form.

    Jerry

  3. #3
    Kjell Solem
    Guest

    Default RE: Tabbed Object

    Thank you Jerry

    The Tab order on the form starts with
    TABBED1
    PRODUCT_ID|TABBED1|2
    DESCRIPTION|TABBED1|2
    The browse on Tab1 has Tab Order number 23.

    I expected PRODUCT_ID on tab2 to be the first field to enter new information when entering a new record.


    Kjell

  4. #4
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,171

    Default RE: Tabbed Object

    From the information you posted, Product_id is on tab one. If you have a different product_id on tab 2, then it has a different object name, probably product_id0, or product_id1. I just ran a test on a tabbed form, and if I activate an object on the second tab using the OnEnter event, the form goes to that field when a new record is started.

    Jerry

  5. #5
    Kjell Solem
    Guest

    Default RE: Tabbed Object


    PRODUCT_ID|TABBED1|2

    What does the |2 refer to?
    I thought it ment tab two of the Object TABBED1.
    Take a look at the Alphasports database, there is no product_id on tab one.

    Kjell

  6. #6
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,171

    Default RE: Tabbed Object

    Since I normally set the arrange order by example, I didn't notice how they set by table. You are correct, the tab order starts at the tabbed object and then moves to the product_id. Even if the product_id is the first in the tab order, the form starts enter mode on the first tab. However, if you place this on the OnEnter event for the form, the form will go into enter mode with focus on the Product_id field, regardless of tab order

    topparent:Product_id.activate()

    Jerry

  7. #7
    Kjell Solem
    Guest

    Default RE: Tabbed Object

    Thank you Jerry, I will use the OnEnter event.

    Kjell

Similar Threads

  1. Tabbed object
    By Penny Ladner in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-10-2005, 02:12 AM
  2. Tabbed object
    By Bryan Parnell in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-17-2005, 03:25 PM
  3. Tabbed Object vs. Conditional Object
    By Tom Cone Jr in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 02-28-2005, 09:23 AM
  4. Tabbed object - refresh
    By fairclothjd in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-01-2005, 05:14 PM
  5. tabbed object
    By Romy Huang in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-17-2004, 11:43 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •