Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Diff. between List & Record List Xdialog box?

  1. #1
    Bob Pickle
    Guest

    Default Diff. between List & Record List Xdialog box?

    I was curious why the following difference exists. Am I missing something?

    If I type a character key while an Xdialog list box has focus, the next line starting with that character gets selected. By repeatedly typing that same character, one can cycle through all the lines starting with that character.

    But an Xdialog record list box behaves differently. Autoselection while typing isn't limited to single characters.

    If I type "ar" in a list box, the first line beginning with "r" ends up being selected. If I type "ar" in a record list box, the first line beginning with "ar" ends up being selected.

    Why the difference?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Peter Wayne
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,728

    Default RE: Diff. between List & Record List Xdialog b

    i asked this of alpha a long time ago and was told that the behavior of the listbox is a microsoft standard for listboxes. i know, it is not very helpful.

  3. #3
    Bob Pickle
    Guest

    Default RE: Diff. between List & Record List Xdialog b

    Thanks Peter. I kindof figured that was part of the answer.

    So this feature of record list boxes, along with the lines between their columns, must be sort of proprietary, and out of reach of an alpha user's emulating using Xbasic.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Peter Wayne
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,728

    Default RE: Diff. between List & Record List Xdialog b

    well, the other side of it is that the question stimulated a discussion about whether alpha software would change the way listboxes work. i don't know whether they will or won't -- they also have only so many resources and they are working on a number of issues with v6.

Similar Threads

  1. Xdialog record-list refresh, how to??
    By Chuck Browne in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-28-2004, 02:34 AM
  2. Formatting for Xdialog record list box?
    By Bob Pickle in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-17-2003, 12:15 PM
  3. X-Dialog Refresh Record-List List-Box
    By Louis Nickerson in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-20-2003, 08:11 AM
  4. useing a checkbox in a X dialog – record list-list
    By Daniel Weiss in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-09-2002, 02:49 PM
  5. Record List Object: list box problem
    By brett s in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-08-2002, 06:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •