Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Disabling query messages..

  1. #1
    Jeff Klages
    Guest

    Default Disabling query messages..

    How can I disable the warning that A5 gives if there are "no records in layout" when you run a query?

    It's screwing up my perfect forms handling...lol

    Actually, since the calling form (MainMenu)is a dialog thats disabled when my called form (PrintReport) is opened, and a query is run that has no records, it locks me out of the MainMenu when I close PrintReport.

    Make sense?

    So if I can tell it to ignore the fact that there are no records then that problem goes away.

    Anyone know how? Or is it possible?
    I placed an "on error goto 0" at the top of the script but that did nothing.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default RE: Disabling query messages..

    I think you are getting the message from the report, not the query. Is your query xbasic scripted? New command (thanks for the reminder Barry) lets you use recs = A5_GET_RECORDS_IN_QUERY() to determine if there are records that fit the query.

    Run the query, branch to the report if there are records, exit to the calling form if there are no records.

  3. #3
    Jeff Klages
    Guest

    Default RE: Disabling query messages..

    Way cool... thanks!

  4. #4
    Jeff Klages
    Guest

    Default RE: Disabling query messages..

    Well... I tried the command but now I get "cannot open table" error message. Now, I have tried every combination of things I can think of to make it work but to no avail.

    It is xbasic scripted if that helps.

    So I sure could use some help.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default RE: Disabling query messages..

    So show us the script you are using.

Similar Threads

  1. Disabling the Form Editor
    By Suzan in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-28-2005, 01:55 PM
  2. disabling the context menu
    By Trixie dela Cena in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-16-2002, 04:17 PM
  3. Disabling ctrl-enter
    By drgarytraub in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-27-2002, 06:28 AM
  4. Disabling a toolbar with Xbasic
    By drgarytraub in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-25-2002, 06:36 PM
  5. Disabling Mouse - A4v6
    By kathleen demarco in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-26-2000, 08:04 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •