Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Add-ins lost

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Walter A Coole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    60

    Default Add-ins lost

    A few months ago, I bought and downloaded three Alpha Five add-ins: A5 Documemter, Report Mailer, and NetMailer. They all worked fine.

    Recently, these three have evaporated. There's no trace of them. I suspect that Norton SystemWorks removed them, but am not sure.

    1) How do I get them back?

    2) How do I keep from losing them again?

    Walter A Coole
    Scaramouche: Hacker/Factotum Philosophy Service
    4576 6th Avenue West
    Vancouver BC V6R 1V5
    604-224-7243 (secure voice/voicemail/FAX)
    scarahf@cs.com
    www.chez-schf.com

  2. #2
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,173

    Default RE: Add-ins lost

    Walter

    By any chance are you using WinXP or Win2000? If they were installed with one user name and you are now logged on with another, they may not show.

    You can check if the files are still loaded. A5doc should have all of the files in the "A5doc" folder under the A5 program folder, which is usually the "A5V5" folder. Netmailer should have a file named "netmailer.aex" which can be found in the "addins_installed" folder under the a5 program folder. I am not sure about the report mailer.

    Jerry

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Walter A Coole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    60

    Default RE: Add-ins lost

    I'm not using WinXP or Win2000. I'm using Win98SE.

    So far, so good. All three are there, but some problems remain.

    1) I can't change the table that A5Doc reports on.

    2) ReportMailer.aex is right there with NetMailer.aex in the addins_installed folder. However, they aren't connected to Alpha Five -- that is to say, when I drop down from File, there's no "Add-Ins" showing. How do I re-connect them?

    Many thanks for your help.
    Walter A Coole dba Scaramouche: Hacker/Factotum

  4. #4
    VAR
    Real Name
    Bill Parker
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,714

    Default RE: Add-ins lost

    You could download a5doc build 85 that is in Alpha's download section of tech support, and installing it will refresh everything.

    If you go to the a5doc main menu and pick an action, like table structures, it should show a selection list of all tables and sets.

    Bill.

  5. #5
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,173

    Default RE: Add-ins lost

    Walter

    Is the problem that "addins" is not listed in the menu options (it should be at the bottom of the menu option list)or is the problem that "addins" is listed, but there are no submenus attached? If "addins" doesn't show at all, try reloading the current patch for A5.

    Jerry

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Walter A Coole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    60

    Default RE: Add-ins lost

    I've downloaded and installed the items you suggested.

    They're not shown in File and Tools.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Walter A Coole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    60

    Default RE: Add-ins lost

    All my problems with Alpha Five are now fixed. Thanks for your help.

    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Walter A Coole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    60

    Default RE: Add-ins lost

    All my problems with Alpha Five are now fixed. Thanks for your help.

    Thanks!

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    H.B. Canon
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    15

    Default RE: Add-ins lost

    I thought I had the same problem - that the ADDONS NETMAILER drop down got lost. So I went to REMOVE PROGRAMS to de-install it and start over. To my great surprise removing Netmailer also removed my entire A5 installation, including the ADD/REMOVE programs entry for A5V5.
    Upon reinstallation of both A5V5 and Netmailer, I thought I still had the problem until I noticed I was looking at the menu under FORMS. I remembered that the Netmailer instructions said to look for the dropdown under TABLES or SETS. There I did find it. This may have been my problem all along.

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Chris Seah
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    32

    Default Report Mailer cannot be found as an Add-On

    Quote Originally Posted by wcoole
    All my problems with Alpha Five are now fixed. Thanks for your help.

    Thanks!
    Hello Walter,

    I have NetMailerPro working fine with A5v5 ( under Win98SE ) all the while.

    Now I added/ installed ReportMailer, but I could not locate the 'sub-menu' to activate the ReportMailer program.

    Qn: How did you solved all your problems?

    Grateful if you can help.
    Cheers

Similar Threads

  1. I've lost everything else
    By Schulzie in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-28-2004, 05:40 AM
  2. Lost *.BMP
    By Keith Hubert in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-14-2003, 06:28 AM
  3. I am so lost........
    By Martha Schuetz in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 08-21-2002, 02:15 PM
  4. I'm Lost
    By lake trash in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-21-2002, 02:33 PM
  5. lost
    By Russell Bella in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-03-2000, 08:47 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •