Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Calculation BUG!!!

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Fred Daniel
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Posts
    302

    Default Calculation BUG!!!

    I have a database table that has about 600,000 records. I have 12 fields that are numeric with no decimal places that represent the 12 months in a year. I have a 13th field that hase a field rule that calculates a total for the 12 months by simply adding the 12 fields together for a total.
    I found that the calcul;ated total is off by 1 in either direction. I've run an operation calculating the total and get the same results. I then went into Alpha4V6 and performed the same calculation on the table and it worked perfectly. I've also done this with MS Acces and foxpro and get a correct result. I've attached screen shots showing the problem before recalculating with Alpha4.

  2. #2
    Alpha Software Employee Selwyn Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Selwyn Rabins
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    5,306

    Default RE: Calculation BUG!!!

    I SERIOUSLY doubt that there is a bug in a5 calculations.

    Of course you can prove me wrong by attaching a table with a few records (don't want to get 600,000 records) that shows the problem.

    If i am wrong, i will wipe the egg of my face and we will fix it.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Fred Daniel
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Posts
    302

    Default RE: Calculation BUG!!!

    I'll clean the problem table down to a few records. Thats the problem. All of the tables that I've built dont seem to have this problem but, I have never had a table with this many records. Could the problem be be withn the size of the file?

  4. #4
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,632

    Default RE: Calculation BUG!!!

    Have you tried setting up your calc using the round() function? Round to zero decimal points and see what you get.

    - Steve

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,311

    Default RE: Calculation BUG!!!

    Fred, might this be a display update issue? If you move to a different row, and then back again does the right value show up?

    Is this a field rule calc field, or is it defined at the form level?

    The size of the table is probably a matter of no consequence. If I understand correctly you're not summing a series of records, but a series of fields in one record, right ?

    -- tom

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Fred Daniel
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Posts
    302

    Default RE: Calculation BUG!!!

    Thats right Tom, it is simply adding or summing up 12 numeric fields that have no decimal places. I'm woundering if it could be a problem with the speed of the calculation process. It worked perfectly with Alpha4V6 which churns thru the file slower than Alpha 5. When I ran the global update with A4v6 it calculated every field correctly. But I ran the operation in A5V5 as well as reevaluate field rules and operations with the incorrect results. It seems to miss the calculation randomly threu the table. I've tried again this morning and had the same results.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Fred Daniel
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Posts
    302

    Default RE: Calculation BUG!!!

    I'll try that method today. The calculated field is simply summing up 12 numeric fields that have no decimal places. I have not had this problem with smaler tables in the 175,000 record range. I'm running Win XP on a 2.53ghz intell with a 200 gig HD.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,311

    Default RE: Calculation BUG!!!

    Fred,

    Try turning off the field rule. Make the field 'user entered' as far as field rules are concerned. Then run your global update operation again.

    -- tom

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Fred Daniel
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Posts
    302

    Default RE: Calculation BUG!!!

    Thanks Tom, I'll try that.

  10. #10
    Alpha Software Employee Selwyn Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Selwyn Rabins
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    5,306

    Default RE: Calculation BUG!!!

    why don't you attach a file that show the problem?

Similar Threads

  1. Age Calculation
    By mgorom in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-01-2004, 07:01 AM
  2. Age Calculation
    By Paul Reese in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-30-2003, 10:46 AM
  3. Age Calculation
    By Brett Heintzman in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-27-2003, 05:57 PM
  4. Need help with calculation
    By Wanda Friesen in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-16-2000, 09:26 AM
  5. If/then calculation in a set
    By Wanda Friesen in forum Alpha Five Versions 2 and 3
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-01-2000, 11:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •