Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: error message"invalid key length"

  1. #1
    aaron nash
    Guest

    Default error message"invalid key length"

    i am trying to edit a field in browe and everytime i try to save it i get: "invalid key length". every thing looks the same.
    any suggestions

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,311

    Default RE: error message

    That's the kind of error message you might see if Alpha Five is having trouble updating an index for your table. check the structure of your table against the definition of the indexes you've created for the same table.

    It could also be triggered by other processes you've set in motion with other field rules or form level events scripts.

    One way to begin sorting this all out is to shut alpha five down. Reboot. Then open the DEFAULT form for the table from the A5 control panel. If the default form misbehaves study the field rules. If the default form behaves as you expect the trouble probably lies in your custom form.

    This is a good technique to remember for any error that's occurring while working with a custom form, cause it gives your troubleshooting some direction.

    -- tom

  3. #3
    Alpha Software Employee Selwyn Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Selwyn Rabins
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    5,306

    Default RE: error message

    you may have defined an order expression for the form that involves multiple fields.

    say your order expression is : company+lastname+city+state

    if the combined length of fields in the order expression exceeds a5's maximum key length, then you get the error.

    the solution is typically to shorten the key.

    e.g. left(company,20) + left(lastname,20)+ etc.

Similar Threads

  1. A4V6-"No file handles left"Error message
    By RALPH WHALEY in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-11-2009, 06:35 AM
  2. "startup_a5_controls" error message
    By Mel Thompson in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-22-2005, 06:06 PM
  3. Error Message: "heap lock failure"
    By Jerry Jalbert in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-2004, 04:02 AM
  4. "Not enough handles" error message
    By Chuck Adam in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-19-2003, 08:36 AM
  5. error message "Out of scan range"
    By Martha Evans in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-06-2000, 06:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •