Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Required-now not required, Problem

  1. #1
    Leslie Blades
    Guest

    Default Required-now not required, Problem

    I had at one stage set a field on a form to "Requied" and then later on I set it to "Not required". The form still is coming up with a message box asking me to enter something in the field that was previously "Required" if I decide to abort entering a new record?

    Thanking you in anticipation.

    Kind regards

    Leslie(Blackpool-UK)

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,311

    Default RE: Required-now not required, Problem

    Leslie,

    I'd close all open forms.
    At the control panel, I'd refresh the control panel.
    Using the file menu, I'd compact the database.

    Then I'd go back to the table's field rules and verify that the right setting were, in fact, saved on last edit.

    -- tom

  3. #3
    Leslie Blades
    Guest

    Default RE: Required-now not required, Problem

    Hi Tom,

    I have tried your suggestion. Nope, it still does it. I have even tried the following to no avail:-

    Deleted field on the form.
    Deleted field in the table.
    Exit from Alpha and open again then:-
    Made up a new field, on both the table and form with the same name, still does the same thing when exiting from a record without saving it. It says "Enter M or F"????

    Kindest regards

    Leslie(Blackpool-UK)

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,311

    Default RE: Required-now not required, Problem

    Leslie,

    Do you have multiple copies of the database on your machine? If so, changes made in one will not appear in the other.

    -- tom

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,311

    Default RE: Required-now not required, Problem

    Leslie,

    The recommended approach is to put each database in its own, self-contained, folder.

    To see the path to each table or set you have added to a database, select the Tables and Sets tab of the control panel; right click on white space in the control panel; choose View, then Details. This will show you the actual path Alpha Five uses to talk to each table or set in your database.

    While it's possible to scatter tables across multiple directories, and have Alpha Five 'add' them to a single database this is usually a very bad idea. Much better to put them all in the same folder (directory) where the ADB file for the database is found.

    -- tom

  6. #6
    Leslie Blades
    Guest

    Default RE: Required-now not required, Problem

    Hi Tom,

    I have used the following method from the start of using Alpha5:-

    Each database is in its own directory

    All field are entered as xxxxxxx_xxxxxx if there needs to be a space between the name of the field.

    All Labels a entered as xxxxxx_xxxx_LBL.

    Would Updating to the new build Selwyn has release a few months ago, and then reinstalling the orginal build to get rid of it, be causing these problems? The reason I reverted to the original build was due to the fact that "Contract Manager" Add-on did not like the add-on when used on a WindowsME machine, but had no problems with Windows98.

    Selwyn was looking into it, but it seems to of died a death, with no further results.

    I have now upgraded to WindowsXP, so should I re-install the new build or not?

    Kindest regards

    Leslie(Blackpool-UK)

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,311

    Default RE: Required-now not required, Problem

    If your version of A5V5 is several months old, I would recommend you download and install the latest patch.

    -- tom

Similar Threads

  1. required field
    By Imran Ahmad in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-17-2005, 03:26 PM
  2. Required fields
    By David Montalbano in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-11-2004, 07:26 PM
  3. Assistance Required
    By David Nolan in forum UK Users
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-08-2003, 03:21 AM
  4. Required Fields
    By russ Boehle in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-28-2003, 03:56 AM
  5. Required
    By forskare in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-01-2002, 06:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •