Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Appending records

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Stermer
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    78

    Default Appending records

    I have a Customer table that periodically will be appended with new records. The Customer table has a Customer ID field which is an Auto-increment type. Is there a way to "refresh/update" these appended records so that Customer ID is added to the records automatically?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.


    Thanks

    Jim

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Louis Nickerson
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,039

    Default RE: Appending records

    Jim,

    Don't take this to the bank but I believe the Account ID will be automatically created for each new record so long as the field rules in the table itself is set to auto increment.

    Give it a try.

    Louis

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Stermer
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    78

    Default RE: Appending records

    Hi Louis
    When I use the append operation to bring in the records, the Customer ID field is blank. It does not generate an ID during the append.


    Jim

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,561

    Default RE: Appending records

    Can you post the table with the field rules? Something fishy is going on.

    It would be good to put all the files needed for a working example to be run.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Stermer
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    78

    Default RE: Appending records

    Thanks Al for the response.

    I think I found the problem. The table I'm appending from does not have a Customer_ID field. I added the field and tested it on a dummy database and it worked fine. I will now try it on the Customer DB.

    Thanks to all.


    Jim

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,561

    Default RE: Appending records

    I haven't tried to append without the id field, but I'd think that the autoincrement should get a value anyway.

    Let us know what happens.

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Russ Boehle
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    2,767

    Default RE: Appending records

    Don't know if this helps in your case but you can do an append of a fixed value or expression, it doesn't have to be a field. This is done on the append screen and is very versatile.

    Russ

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Stermer
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    78

    Default RE: Appending records

    I found the problem. I tried the append on my customer table after successfully performing it on a dummy table and it still would not increment on the appended records. I looked again at the field rules for the customer table and found auto increment unchecked. I don't know how it got unchecked but now everything is working OK now. Sorry for the error but thanks for all your support.


    Humble Jim

Similar Threads

  1. Appending records
    By Jesse Sanders in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-03-2005, 04:57 AM
  2. Appending Records
    By kumargroup in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-10-2003, 09:20 AM
  3. Appending Records
    By Jules Klapper in forum Alpha Five Version 1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-13-2003, 11:09 AM
  4. Appending Records
    By Scott Rusoff in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-15-2003, 04:30 PM
  5. appending records from set to set
    By Todd Warren in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-16-2000, 05:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •