Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Switch to Alpha.

  1. #1
    Roy Irby
    Guest

    Default Switch to Alpha.

    I'm about to make a jump and switch database development platforms... I've been using Approach since v1.0 and Filemaker before that... I can't seem to make by brain think like Access, so A5 it is! I had purchased A5v4 around 1.5 yrs back, but never really got into it. Just purchased v5 today.

    So, which of the available books will be good to grab for reference?

    Also, tia for patience w/ the impending flood of mundane questions from me. ;)


    Roy.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default RE: Switch to Alpha.

    Hi Roy,

    Welcome to the fold. Get the book by Susan Bush, start with that. Get the basics down and then get Dr. Peter Wayne's book.

    There are some fundamental similarities with the various databases, normalization, etc. Force yourself to focus on Alpha, if you don't know how do do something in Alpha, check the user Guide, etc. Don't try to do it the way you did it in Approach. Your learning curve and frustrations will he a lot less. Don't be afraid to ask questions. We're here to help.

    kenn

  3. #3
    Roy Irby
    Guest

    Default RE: Switch to Alpha.

    I know there are gonna be some major adjustments to make...

    For instance, in Approach/Filemaker, there is only one "set" it would seem... One place where you define the relationships btw several databases (Approach calls them Joins, Filemaker - Relationships). I'm not quite sure how having multiple "sets" is gonna effect the way I work, other than possibly avoiding stupendously large numbers of tables in a join/set.

    Also, in Approach, indexes were basically hands off. They were handled and generated automatically. A5 seems to allow control over them, but I need to learn why. I do know that they frequently became corrupted in Approach. Eventually I stopped using any autoincrementing serial functions of Approach, so that I could just delete the indexes occasionally without losing the "next serial" for a field (approach or dbase perhaps stored the next available serial for autoincrementing fields within the index file). A pain, yes, but app development is full of workarounds anyway, eh?

  4. #4
    Alpha Software Employee Richard Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Richard Rabins
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    2,347

    Default RE: Switch to Alpha.

    Will soon be offering training materials from Pace Training on version 5.

    They have just completed a two days hands on training in DC and I understand that it was very well received.

    thanks

    Richard Rabins
    richard@alphasoftawre.com

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default RE: Switch to Alpha.

    Roy,

    Don't worry!! Forget how you used to do it. The sooner, the better. Pretend you know nothing about a database, other than normalization, etc. Focus, get tunnel vision, on A5. Yopu'll be running in the fast lane before you know it, unless, you drag Filemaker and Approach methods into the equation. If you do........I hope you don't frustrate easily.

    kenn

  6. #6
    Roy Irby
    Guest

    Default RE: Switch to Alpha.

    Well, I've already got a list of questions in my head that I'm anxious to have answered. Most are of the type:

    How the hell am I going to do this in A5? :)

    Luckily, the message board here seems pretty lively, so if trial and error or consulting the docs doesn't help, I'll have no problem getting a quick answer.

  7. #7
    Roy Irby
    Guest

    Default RE: Switch to Alpha.

    Well, just ordered both books v5 books (Bush, Wayne).

    Perhaps the added expenditure will further bolster my commitment towards switching. ;)

Similar Threads

  1. A switch for compacting
    By Raymond Lyons in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-07-2005, 04:42 PM
  2. Making the Switch
    By davej in forum Upgrading to Alpha Five from Alpha Four
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-24-2003, 07:18 AM
  3. Switch from Symantec QA4?
    By Irv Pereira in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-06-2003, 08:16 AM
  4. May I switch over from Access, but have some ??
    By René Stout in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-10-2003, 01:41 PM
  5. Switch to Access?
    By John Stevens in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-16-2002, 02:49 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •