Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Licensing cost

  1. #1
    Wayne Sheppard
    Guest

    Default Licensing cost


    We are considering Alpha 5 as our replacement for Paradox. We are a one-location company, with some 60+ users. The Unlimited User Runtime would be the way to go.

    We have many active developers. Do we need a Unlimited User Runtime for each developer? If we have 10 users that develop applications, would we need 10 copies (@ $1600 each)? Sharing a single install on one computer is not an option.

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,643

    Default RE: Licensing cost

    If I am not mistaken, you will need:

    1. One full copy of A5 for each developer.
    2. One copy only of the unlimited runtime for all your users who are not developers.

    That's my understanding anyway.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Charlie Crimmel
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    1,695

    Default RE: Licensing cost

    Wayne:
    I would think that you could buy 1 unlimited runtime for all users.
    Each developer would need a full version for development.
    That could be a single user or a 3 -5 - or 10 user package.
    the single user developer might run about 395. If you qualify for an upgrade it might be somewhat cheaper.
    I would think that the multi user package would reduce the per user cost.

    I am not speaking for Alpha, but
    I would think that Alpha could work with you on the pricing.

    charlie crimmel

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    JohnZaleski
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    1,736

    Default RE: Licensing cost

    Best way to order would probably be:

    2 five user full version packs at 1,249 per five pack
    1 unlimited runtime at 1,599

    This would allow for 10 developers and an unlimited number of simultanoues users.

  5. #5
    Wayne Sheppard
    Guest

    Default RE: Licensing cost

    Thanks for the replies. It sounds like I only need ONE Unlimited/Unlimited version for our network. Then each developer that needs to develop would need a full version. This is quite reasonable.

    I wanted to make sure that every developer didn't need the Unlimited/Unlimited version.

  6. #6
    Alpha Software Employee Richard Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Richard Rabins
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    2,347

    Default RE: Licensing cost

    that is correct

    ONE unlimited runtime and then copies for each developer

    Let me know if you have any questions

    thanks
    richard rabins
    richard@alphasoftware.com

Similar Threads

  1. What will it cost me?
    By Edward F. Schulz in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-28-2002, 09:02 AM
  2. The Cost of RT?
    By forskare in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 07-18-2002, 01:05 PM
  3. Shipper / cost determination.
    By CALocklin in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-15-2002, 04:01 PM
  4. A5V5 Cost
    By Van Jones in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-10-2002, 07:55 AM
  5. A5v5 Cost for licence
    By Arthur Armour in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-11-2000, 05:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •