Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Report filter on Child Table (Not in V 5)

  1. #1
    Mike Becker
    Guest

    Default Report filter on Child Table (Not in V 5)

    I have an Invoicing application that uses the standard Invoicing set. Invoice Header (Parent) links to Invoice Items (Child).

    I have about 35 reports built on that set that reference a field in the child table when filtering records. All reports work fine in Version 4 but none will work in version 5. The problem is with the following expression...

    isnotblank("Wholesale_Invoice_Items->Product_Id")

    None of the reports will work in version 5 with the above expression in them.

    Has something changed in report filtering in version 5?

    Thanks,

    Mike Becker

    Note: correct e-mail is mbec2@comcast.net

  2. #2
    Mike Becker
    Guest

    Default RE: Report filter on Child Table (Not in V 5)

    Ooops,

    Version 5 with build 1009

    Thanks,

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    William Hanigsberg
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    4,018

    Default RE: Report filter on Child Table (Not in V 5)

    Delete the filter and save. Then recreate the filter (same syntax) and see what happens. Once in a great while someone has reported having to do this so it's worth a try.

    I'm not making any promises, though.

    Bill

  4. #4
    Mike Becker
    Guest

    Default RE: Report filter on Child Table (Not in V 5)

    Thanks for your suggestion Bill.

    I have done that in many different ways and it all comes down to

    isnotblank("Wholesale_Invoice_Items->Product_Id")

    causes the dialog box stating "There are no pages in the layout"

    Mike

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    William Hanigsberg
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    4,018

    Default RE: Report filter on Child Table (Not in V 5)

    Too bad.

    I guess it's time to post it here. Somebody will figure it out.

    Bill

  6. #6
    Mike Becker
    Guest

    Default RE: Report filter on Child Table (Not in V 5)

    It seems that the "Isnotblank()" function is what is causing the problem. It will always cause a "No Pages in Layout" error if the function references a child table in a set. When it references a field in the Parent, it corrupts the report filter. One example of such corruption was the embedding of a "Total()" function 21 times in the middle of the filter. The expression works fine in the expression builder. The corruption only takes place when running the report.

    I read Dr. Waynes' post that discussed problems with reports that are set to "Base Report on Current selection of Records". I have unchecked this box and even made the change in a report in version 4 and copied the report into version 5 as he suggested. Still the problem persists.

    Of the two expressions listed below the first will fail and the second will work.

    isnotblank("Wholesale_Invoice_Items->Product_Id")

    Wholesale_Invoice_Items->Quantity > 0

    I hope this gives some insight into the problem.

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ohlen Cartmell
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,599

    Default RE: Report filter on Child Table (Not in V 5)

    Have you tried:

    .not.isblank("Wholesale_Invoice_Items->Product_Id")

  8. #8
    Mike Becker
    Guest

    Default RE: Report filter on Child Table (Not in V 5)

    Hi Ohlen,

    I just tried it and it Worked!!!!

    I don't understand why Isnotblank() wouldn't work but this sure is an easy workaround.

    Thank you and take care,

    Mike

Similar Threads

  1. Parent table based on query of child table.
    By edward.mattison@scbhn.org in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-25-2005, 04:14 PM
  2. Order/Filter based on Child Table
    By Art Cordaro in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-18-2003, 11:53 AM
  3. Child Table Filter
    By forskare in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-29-2003, 05:55 PM
  4. Set report displays no pages one child table empty
    By Don Reed in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-13-2002, 12:41 PM
  5. Embedded child table won't filter
    By Greg Fong in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-05-2001, 07:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •