Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Can't create database

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    John Bierman
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    35

    Default Can't create database

    I can't create a database unless I use the genie. Attached is a "bmp" file which shows the error message indicating that the "dbf" file cannot be found when I try to save the table.

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Paul Roesch
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Palm Beach County, FL
    Posts
    123

    Default RE: Can't create database

    John,

    You may be new to A5. A database is a collections of dbf files, layout, scripts etc. You seem to be looking for a dbf that you think you created.

    When you get the A5 opening dialog click on Recent Databases and see if what you created is there. If it is open it and you will get the control panel where you cab create dbfs as needed.

    Paul

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    John Bierman
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    35

    Default RE: Can't create database

    Thanks Paul - actually I have been using Alpha from its earliest days and have been using A5V4 since it became available.

    I am beginning to think that the update did not install properly and I will have to uninstall and reinstall.

  4. #4
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default RE: Can't create database

    John,

    Creating a database is absolute central to everything we do in Alpha 5. I agree with your thought about reinstalling. If you haven't done any work worth saving yet, you might want to delete what you have (or at lewast rename any A5 folder) and then reinstall. If you get lucky the seond time, you can move the folders you need from the just renamed folder.

    Dave

Similar Threads

  1. Need someone to create a database for me
    By Louis Campanara in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-05-2005, 09:22 AM
  2. Which program was used to create this database?
    By Louis Nickerson in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-06-2004, 08:21 AM
  3. How Can I Create a MS Access Database from Alpha5?
    By Ernest Budnick in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-02-2003, 07:36 PM
  4. Can't create database
    By rbierman@iowbar.org in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-26-2002, 06:43 AM
  5. Won't create new database
    By John Cunradi in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-28-2000, 08:59 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •