Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Publishing an A5W Page

  1. #1
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default Publishing an A5W Page

    I have to admit that I haven't done much with A5W pages, so I can't say when this problem started to happen, but . .

    In both V6 (1603_2057) and V7beta (3834_2059), when I select an existing a5w page (or create a new one) and click 'Publish' the publishing sequence seems to work, but the browser does not display the page. If the browser is not currently loaded, it does not load; if it is open, the a5w pages does not appear.

    Any ideas where to look or what to look for?

    Dave

  2. #2
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,173

    Default RE: Publishing an A5W Page

    Dave

    Publishing does not start the browser, it just copies the files to the published location, converts components to "published" form, and copies related css and image files to locations relative to the main files. To see the result in the browser, open the browser, and enter the URL of the published pages. For example, if you published a page "logon.a5w" directly to the webroot, you would enter http://localhost/logon.a5w as the URL to open the page. If the published location was "myapp" under the webroot, the URL would be http://localhost/myapp/logon.a5w

    Jerry

  3. #3
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default RE: Publishing an A5W Page

    Jerry,

    In both A5V6 & 7, if you click 'Publish' on the Web Projects Control Panel , or select 'Web/Publish Project...', the dialog has a check box labeled 'Launch browser after files are published'. Are you saying that it does not mean what it says?

    When I open an .a5w page the way you indicate, I see the underlying code - the "%5...%" portion of the page is not rendered as it should be.

    Dave

  4. #4
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default RE: Publishing an A5W Page

    Jerry,

    In rereading my reply to your comments, it comes across to me as confrontational -which I certainly did not mean. I just wonder what that 'Launch browser after files are published' button means.

    I appreciate your help and again I apologize for the way my comments sounded.

    Dave

  5. #5
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,173

    Default RE: Publishing an A5W Page

    Dave

    You? Confrontational? It doesn't work for me either, but I never tried it before. I just open the browser and enter the URL, just like any end user would do. I never even noticed the option before.

    Jerry

  6. #6
    VAR Dan Blank's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dan Blank
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    995

    Default RE: Publishing an A5W Page

    Hi Dave,

    Got to ask, Are you using Mozilla, and is that set as your default web browser? I have noticed that with IE it starts and with Mozilla it doesn't start?

    Just a thought.

    Dan

    Dan Blank Databases, Inc.

  7. #7
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default RE: Publishing an A5W Page

    Hi Dan,

    Good thought - I did, in fact, have Mozilla Firefox set as my default browser. I set IE as the default browser, rebooted, opened A5V6, started the web server and tried to open MainMenu.a5w - nothing. Then, I opened IE and tried to open MainMenu.a5w directly and that process loaded A5V5, which of course, gives an error message.

    I think I'm going back to DOS and give up this Windows #$^%@#%%^*(.

    Dave

Similar Threads

  1. Why isn't my app publishing?
    By Wanda Tucker in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-06-2005, 08:56 PM
  2. Publishing a page to a server
    By Edward Larrabee in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-26-2005, 05:29 AM
  3. Publishing Problems
    By Jesse Sanders in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-25-2005, 01:00 PM
  4. publishing a grid
    By Rnady Rahon in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-22-2005, 06:59 AM
  5. Web Publishing of Database
    By Thom Lee in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-13-2003, 12:21 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •