Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Print Preview

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ed Barley
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,056

    Default Print Preview

    Hello Everyone,

    Like a lot of people, I use Action Scripting quite a bit.

    I love to use Print Preview, when printing reports, because the input person can take a quick look at the report and see if the data is OK.

    I ran a search on the board, and did not come up with an answer for this question.

    Please find attached a JPEG of a screen shot of a Report Preview.

    I have two questions;
    1 - How do I get rid of the Show control panel button in the Report preview window?
    2 - How do you get rid of the ALPHA menu when the Report preview shows?

    I never payed attention to the show control panel button in the preview window. Shame on me. So if you use this quite extensively like I have, how do you get it out of there?

    Thanks Ed

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve Andrews
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mahwah, NJ
    Posts
    644

    Default RE: Print Preview

    Ed,

    For the first question, if you intend to remove the Control Panel button all of the time you can do so.

    - Go to the Code tab of the Control Panel.
    - With the cursor in an empty space, right-click and select "Customize System Menus/Toolbars".
    - Then select "Customize System Toolbars".
    - Select the "Print Preview" toolbar.
    - Select "Edit Toolbar".
    - On the left, select the Show Control Panel button.
    - Hit the Delete button and save it.

    I haven't tested it but that should suffice in removing that button permanently from the Preview toolbar.

    As for the menu, I'm not sure how to remove it altogether. I hope this helps.

    Steve

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ed Barley
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,056

    Default RE: Print Preview

    Hi Steve,

    All I can say, is EXCELLENT.

    It gives the options to control the main menu items, and also the window tool bar, just for the print preview.

    You made my day with this one.

    Have a nice day

    Ed

  4. #4
    Jason Edwards
    Guest

    Default RE: Print Preview

    When in design mode, choose the report/properties/region properties from the menu. The very last tab is the menu/toolbars. On that tab, select 'None' for the menu and/or toolbar. This will get rid of the menu. You might want to create a custom menu to replace the default menu.

    Jason

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ed Barley
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,056

    Default RE: Print Preview

    Good Morning,

    In my developing copy of A5v6 changing the Alpha menu and tool bar for the print preview, works perfect every time.

    But getting the runtime to act the same is not happening. I have compacted the application twice. Refreshed the shadow twice, deleted the shadow, and re copied it(create shadow). Still no go.

    Am I doing something wrong for this to take effect, or is there something wrong?

    Thanks

    Ed

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ed Barley
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,056

    Default RE: Print Preview

    Hello again,

    Also If I point the runtime to the server, instead of the shadow, I get the same thing. No change in the Alpha menu and tool bar for the print preview.

    I do not see anywhere in runtime to make an change.

    Thanks

    Ed

  7. #7
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,660

    Default RE: Print Preview

    (original link deleted, no longer valid) The old link simply explained that you needed to copy a_toolbars_customized.* from your Alpha Five program folder to your runtime program folder. This is where the customized system toolbars are stored

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ed Barley
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,056

    Default RE: Print Preview

    Thanks Lenny,

    Have a good one.

    Ed

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ed Barley
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,056

    Default RE: Print Preview

    Hi Lenny,

    I also changed the Alpha menu for the print preview.

    Would it also be correct to copy the A_MENUS_SYSTEM.* into the runtime application folder??

    (I see that the A_MENUS_SYSTEM.dbf and .fpt updated when I made the changes, in my full version folder.)

    I do not want to try it without you saying OK.

    Thanks

    Ed

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic Charles Hoens's Avatar
    Real Name
    Charles Hoens
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Princeton, NJ
    Posts
    1,170

    Default RE: Print Preview

    I am having the opposite problem. In all of my reports, in the Report/Properties/Report Properties/Menu is showing Toolbar as None (with no other options) and Menu as None (with no other options). How do I turn on the Toolbar? Right now, when a user previews a report all they can do is Exit the entire application.

    Please help!

    Charlie

  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic Charles Hoens's Avatar
    Real Name
    Charles Hoens
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Princeton, NJ
    Posts
    1,170

    Default RE: Print Preview

    Never mind! After working at it for an hour I found the fix. The pulldown menu for Menus/Toolbars only gives you one selection "None". I typed in "System" like the other menus in A5, but that was not working. After some trial and error I found that by just leaving it blank the PrintPreview would revert to the Print Preview Toolbar as is described earlier in this thread.

    Very strange behaviour and one that should be fixed for consistency!

    Charlie

Similar Threads

  1. print preview
    By Cheryl Lemire in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-15-2004, 11:06 AM
  2. Print preview
    By Cheryl Lemire in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-11-2004, 10:40 AM
  3. Print Preview
    By Phil Rolf in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-19-2002, 04:43 AM
  4. Print preview
    By Ales SKlepic in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-15-2001, 04:12 AM
  5. Can't Print or Preview a form
    By deano in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-14-2001, 06:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •