Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Action Script won't work with v6

  1. #1
    Member Tim Sutherland's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tim Sutherland
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    287

    Default Action Script won't work with v6

    I am attaching a link to d/l a test application that I am having a problem with. I have an action script defined to print an envelope. It works fine under version 5 but not in version 6.

    I'd appreciate it if someone can take a look at it and see what I am overlooking.

    http://www.sutherlandlegal.com/test.zip

    Here's what to do to see the problem (in version 6)
    1) Open form Billto Find
    2) Click on the envelope button
    3) select 6x9 envelope
    4) click ok
    5) Click yes to enter an attention line
    6) Try to enter any text in the attention line box - it doesn't allow it (it does work in v5 though)

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Former Alpha Employee Edward Larrabee's Avatar
    Real Name
    Edward Larrabee
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    1,385

    Default RE: Action Script won't work with v6

    Tim,

    You should package the app with any sample data that is required to duplicate the problem into a ZIP file and attach it to the message.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Cal Locklin
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    S.E. Michigan
    Posts
    5,763

    Default RE: Action Script won't work with v6

    Tim,

    I tried the A5v5 version you sent me some time ago and found that the problem is in the way A5 now implements the OnKey event.

    In v5 the OnKey event of a form was not triggered when an xdialog had focus. In v6 it is. I'm hoping this is a bug that Alpha can fix because I've had problems with it before. Otherwise you will have to remove the OnKey script from the form (probably not something you want to do) or completely change the method for getting the Attention Line text.

    Cal Locklin
    www.aimsdc.net

  4. #4
    Member Tim Sutherland's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tim Sutherland
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    287

    Default RE: Action Script won't work with v6

    Ed, I've attached a sample app to this message. See the first message in the thread for instructions on how to duplicate it.
    Thanks,
    Tim

Similar Threads

  1. Alpha Five Action Script: Script Create
    By debwelch in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-30-2004, 10:35 AM
  2. Need Help with Action Script
    By Gary Phillips in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-2003, 08:16 AM
  3. Action Script Set Vbl???
    By russ Boehle in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-19-2002, 03:01 PM
  4. Action scripting does not work
    By richardurban in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-30-2002, 12:45 PM
  5. action script
    By david dickie in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-11-2002, 01:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •