Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Alpha Sports Customer Form question

  1. #1
    Member Dave Wilson's Avatar
    Real Name
    David Wilson
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bellmore, NY
    Posts
    267

    Default Alpha Sports Customer Form question

    I'm trying toi mimic the behavior of the Alpha Sports Customer form with respect to changing the "Serachby" field, and having the browse1 object always show the field selected by searchby. I've tried to use this in my own appps, and everyihg works fine except that the browse1 field always shows the same field - 'lastname' regardless of the "searchby" selection. It seems that somehow, the Apha Sports application changes the browse1 field when the "searchby" field is changed. How is this done? Thanks.

    -DW

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,311

    Default RE: Alpha Sports Customer Form question

    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/alphaphorum/read.php3?num=15&id=17390&loc=0&offset=0&sortby=lastreply&direction=desc&thread=17390

    -- tom

  3. #3
    Member Dave Wilson's Avatar
    Real Name
    David Wilson
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bellmore, NY
    Posts
    267

    Default RE: Alpha Sports Customer Form question

    I'll be damned. The old "hidden calculated field trick". If they ever come up with an Alpha Software ceritification program, this would be a good exam question. A while back I corresponded with Selwyn about a problem I was seeing running a script off the "opertions" tab in control panel. Turns out Alpha Five shouldn't have been allowing what I was trying to do. That's a great thread on how to fix the Alpha Sports browse, thanks.

    -DW

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,311

    Default RE: Alpha Sports Customer Form question

    David, I agree.

    Being able to discover the calc field being displayed, and then being able to figure out how it changes, requires a certain amount of experience.

    -- tom

  5. #5
    Member Dave Wilson's Avatar
    Real Name
    David Wilson
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bellmore, NY
    Posts
    267

    Default RE: Alpha Sports Customer Form question

    What's great is it's a two minute fix now to get it to work in my apps like it does in Alpha Sports. This is a very powerful set of buttons and code from Alpha Sports that makes finding information a snap. Great stuff.


    -DW

Similar Threads

  1. Alpha Sports customer form eval error
    By Dave Wilson in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-17-2005, 06:41 AM
  2. Another Alpha Sports Question
    By Russell Rowton in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-21-2005, 06:56 PM
  3. browse like Alpha Sports customer browse
    By Craig Bryant in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-22-2003, 05:56 AM
  4. alpha sports question
    By Jeff, Richards in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-02-2002, 09:07 PM
  5. Programming question-Alpha sports
    By David Day in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-26-2002, 03:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •